Skip to main content

The Penn State Preseason Awards Watch List

It's college football awards watch list season. We're tracking Penn State's nominees here.

College football's favorite preseason exercise, releasing awards watch lists, is in full swing. And what better way to prepare for the 2021 season than sifting through the hundreds of nominees for the Maxwell, Davey O'Brien, Bednarik, Rimington, etc. awards?

Sixteen preseason awards will release their watch lists through July 30, and we're tracking all of Penn State's nominees here. So let's get to the red carpet.

Maxwell Award (Player of the Year)

  • Receiver Jahan Dotson

Bednarik Award (Defensive Player of the Year)

  • Safety Jaquan Brisker

Bronko Nagurski Award (Defensive Player of the Year)

  • Safety Jaquan Brisker

Doak Walker Award (Running Back of the Year)

  • Noah Cain
  • Keyvone Lee
  • John Lovett

Butkus Award (Linebacker of the Year)

  • Jesse Luketa
  • Brandon Smith

Outland Trophy (Interior Lineman of the Year)

  • Tackle Rasheed Walker
  • Center Mike Miranda

Biletnikoff Award (Receiver of the Year)

  • Jahan Dotson

Jim Thorpe Award (Defensive Back of the Year)

  • Jaquan Brisker

Mackey Award (Tight End of the Year)

  • Brenton Strange

The Dodd Trophy (Coach of the Year)

  • James Franklin

Wuerffel Trophy (Community Service and Leadership)

  • Quarterback Sean Clifford

Stay tuned for more Penn State nominees.

Read more

Penn State has had a memorable July recruiting run. And it's not over.

'Lockdown' Louisiana cornerback commits to Penn State.

Where does Sean Clifford rank among the nation's quarterbacks?