Skip to main content

How Hero Mastery Mode Works in Overwatch 2

The Overwatch 2 Hero Mastery game mode is here, bringing training courses for some popular heroes. Here’s everything we know about this new game mode.

What Is the Point of the Hero Mastery Mode in OW2?

The Hero Mastery mode is a single-player mode meant to help you improve with certain heroes through obstacles and challenges focused on a hero’s specific weapon and abilities.

Who Are the Heroes With Hero Mastery Mode Training Courses?

As previously discussed by Blizzard, a different batch of heroes will get training courses each season. In Season 8, these are the heroes with courses available:

  • Reinhardt
  • Mercy
  • Tracer
  • Sojourn
  • Winston
  • Genji
  • D.Va
  • Echo
Tracer win pose

How Does Hero Mastery Mode Work?

Each hero will have three courses that vary in difficulty. You have to complete the previous difficulty level to unlock the next one.

The first difficulty level is Recruit. Once you get a three-star rating in Recruit, you will unlock Agent. If you get a four-star rating in Agent, you will unlock Expert, the highest level. You can also check the Top 500 leaderboards to see who has the highest scores for each hero in each region.

Each hero in this mode will unlock an exclusive player icon, name card, and bonus battle pass XP when you complete all three of their courses.

The courses have training bots so you can practice shooting and blocking. Some bots are tanks while others are snipers, etc. giving you a variety of hero types to prepare for. The bots are placed throughout the map so you have to “figure out how to deal with them as you master each course,” Blizzard stated.

To get a high score, you need to collect Emblems as fast as you can. The size of the Emblem indicates how many bonus points it’s worth. You can then earn score multipliers for how fast you finish the course, split into three tiers.

The current Hero Mastery courses will be available until February 6.