Skip to main content

David Ortiz Elected to Baseball Hall of Fame; Bonds, Clemens Snubbed in Final Year on Ballot

The National Baseball Hall of Fame class of 2022 will include 'Big Papi'.

One year after the Baseball Writers' Association of American pitched a shutout last year, the writers have elected one player to the National Baseball Hall of Fame in 2022: David Ortiz.

Players must receive a vote on at least 75 percent of the ballots submitted by the voting members of the BBWAA. Of the 30 players on a total of 394 ballots, Ortiz was the only one to eclipse that mark, receiving 77.9 percent support from the writers.

After being traded by the Seattle Mariners and released by the Minnesota Twins, Ortiz made his mark on the game with 14 memorable seasons with the Boston Red Sox. He won three World Series championships while in Boston, and became one of the best clutch postseason hitters of all time. Ortiz hit .455 with three home runs and 14 RBI in 14 World Series games and was named the Most Valuable Player in 2013 when he batted .688 with two homers and six RBI in 16 at-bats.

Overall, Ortiz was a 10-time All-Star and seven-time Silver Slugger Award winner, led the American League in RBI three times and his 1,192 extra-base hits are tied for eighth all-time. He also had one of the greatest final seasons of any player when in 2016 at age 40 he batted .315 with 38 home runs and league-high figures in doubles (48), RBI (127), slugging percentage (.620) and OPS (1.021).

Scroll to Continue

Recommended Articles

Gabe Kapler

Rangers Ex Gabe Kapler: 'Not OK With State of This Country,' Says Protesting Giants Manager

The San Francisco Giants manager told reporters he won't be on the field for the National Anthem after reflecting on the Uvalde shooting

May 13, 2018; Houston, TX, USA; Detail view of first base commemorating mothers day before a game between the Houston Astros and the Texas Rangers at Minute Maid Park.

Rangers History Today: Kevin Reimer's Walk-off

On this day a former Rangers slugger drove in another former Rangers slugger for the team's second walk-off win in three games

Apr 19, 2022; Seattle, Washington, USA; Texas Rangers starting pitcher Jon Gray (22) throws against the Seattle Mariners during the fourth inning at T-Mobile Park. Mandatory Credit: Joe Nicholson-USA TODAY Sports

Texas Rangers vs Oakland Athletics Pregame: Texas Seeks Another Win

The Texas Rangers will start right-hander Jon Gray when they face at the Oakland Athletics on Friday night

Four players were on the ballot for the 10th and final year—Barry Bonds, Roger Clemens, Curt Schilling and Sammy Sosa. Bonds received 260 votes (66 percent), Clemens received 257 (65.2%), Schilling received 231 (58.6%) and Sosa only received 73 (18.5%). 

Both Clemens and Schilling issued statements in reaction to the voting results.

Eight players who donned a Texas Rangers uniform were on this year's ballot: Sosa, Andruw Jones, Álex Rodríguez, Omar Vizquel, Joe Nathan, Mark Teixeira, Prince Fielder, and A.J. Pierzynski. However, only Jones, Rodríguez and Vizquel will remain on next year's ballot. Sosa reached his maximum number of years on the BBWAA ballot while Nathan, Teixeira, Fielder and Pierzynski all failed to earned enough votes to maintain eligibility.

Former Rangers Mike Napoli and R.A. Dickey are eligible to be put on the 2023 BBWAA ballot. Former Ranger great Adrián Beltré will be eligible in 2024.

Make sure to like SI's 'Inside The Rangers' on Facebook