Skip to main content

Breaking Down Final 2021 Heisman Voting

The Heisman Trophy was awarded to Alabama quarterback Bryce Young. Here's how the final voting of the award panned out on Saturday evening.
  • Author:
  • Updated:

After 900-plus votes were returned, we finally have a winner. 

The 87th Heisman Memorial Trophy was awarded to Alabama quarterback Bryce Young on Saturday evening. 

Young, a sophomore, was the overwhelming favorite to take home the award, while making some history along the way. 

With Young capturing the Heisman this year, Alabama is now the third school since 2000 to have back-to-back winners of the trophy following receiver DeVonta Smith's successful campaign in 2020. Previously, there was USC (quarterback Matt Leinart 2004-running back Reggie Bush 2005) and Oklahoma (quarterbacks Baker Mayfield 2017-Kyler Murray 2018).

Young also became the fifth player to win the award in his sophomore season, joining Tim Tebow, Sam Bradford, Mark Ingram and Lamar Jackson.

Predictable? Perhaps.

A survey completed by BetOnline prior to the ceremony revealed that an overwhelming majority of the country believed Young would be Alabama's fourth winner since 2009. 

2021 Heisman Trophy Picks logo

When it came down to the actual voting of the Heisman, results felt similar. 

Breaking Down Final Heisman Voting

First-Place Votes

Bryce Young: 684
Aidan Hutchinson: 78
Will Anderson Jr.: 31
Kenny Pickett: 28
C.J. Stroud: 12

Total Voting Points

Bryce Young: 2,311
Aidan Hutchinson: 954
Kenny Pickett: 631
C.J. Stroud: 399
Will Anderson Jr.: 325

Young became the first Alabama quarterback to win the Heisman Trophy, receiving 83% of possible points, giving him the seventh-most votes of all time. 

Young, who also won all six voting regions, received the 10th-most first-place votes of all time at 684.