Big Ten Recognizes Spring Academic All-Conference Honorees

Publish date:


Spartan athletics soars in athletics and in the classroom.  Photo courtesy of Starr Portice.

Spartan athletics soars in athletics and in the classroom. Photo courtesy of Starr Portice.

Big Ten Recognizes Spring Academic All-Conference Honorees


Park Ridge, Ill.—As the 2010-11 academic year comes to a close, the Big Ten Conference recognizes a total of 1,078 spring and at-large sports student-athletes who have been named to the Academic All-Conference team. The list of honored student-athletes features 95 baseball players, 80 softball players, 128 women’s rowers, 55 men’s and 48 women’s golfers, 50 men’s and 55 women’s tennis athletes, 141 men’s and 158 women’s track standouts and 124 men’s (representing ice hockey, volleyball, lacrosse, fencing, rowing and pistol and rifle) and 144 women’s (representing water polo, ice hockey, fencing, synchronized swimming, lightweight rowing, lacrosse and pistol and rifle) at-large athletes. To be eligible for Academic All-Big Ten selection, student-athletes must be letterwinners who are in at least their second academic year at their institution and carry a cumulative grade-point average of 3.0 or higher.

At least 15 Big Ten student-athletes have maintained unblemished GPAs. Six women’s track and field student-athletes boast cumulative 4.0 GPAs in Illinois’ Elizabeth Boyle (Sr., Secondary Education), Indiana’s Vera Neuenswander (Gr., Graduate Counseling), Iowa’s Kelsey Hart (So., Integrative Physiology) and Hannah Roeder (Gr., Public Health) and Minnesota’s Kathryn Ritter (Jr., Pharmaceutical Studies) and Elizabeth Yetzer (Gr., Education). Also with perfect GPAs are Indiana softball player Kelsey Brannon (So., Elementary Education), Iowa men’s tennis player Garret Dunn (So., Finance/Accounting), women’s golfer Gianna DiGrazia (So., Human Psychology) and women’s rower Anna Kolden (Sr., Elementary Education/Spanish), Michigan State men’s golfer Dave Ellis (Jr., Finance), Minnesota men’s track and field athletes Max Hanson (Gr., Applied Kinesiology) and Joey Schwecke (Sr., Applied Kinesiology), Ohio State men’s tennis player Nelson Vick (So., Biology) and Wisconsin women’s hockey player Becca Ruegsegger (So., African Language & Literature).

The conference office will also present the Distinguished Scholar Award at the end of the academic year. Student-athletes eligible for the Distinguished Scholar Award must be letterwinners in at least their second year in residence at their institution. Qualifying student-athletes must have earned a GPA of 3.7 or higher for the current academic year, excluding summer school. The Big Ten Distinguished Scholar Award was established by conference Faculty Representatives as an addition to the conference’s Academic All-Big Ten program.

Here is a complete list of Spartan winners:

Stephen Doty, Michigan State Sr. Food Industry Management Farmington Hills, Mich.

Brandon Eckerle, Michigan State Sr. General Business Administration/Pre‐

Law Durand, Mich.

Bryce Jenney, Michigan State Jr. Finance Northville, Mich.

Andy Johnson, Michigan State Sr. History Lake Forest, Ill.

Ryan Martin, Michigan State So. Finance Cincinnati, Ohio

Andrew Rademacher, Michigan State So. Accounting DeWitt, Mich.

Justin Scanlon, Michigan State Jr. Sociology Verona, Wis.



Andrew Webb, Michigan State Sr. Criminal Justice Allen Park, Mich.



Kurt Wunderlich, Michigan State Sr. Finance Des Peres, Mo.



Joe Zwierzynski, Michigan State So. General Management Crystal Lake, Ill.