Former Tar Heels Lawrence, Francis in XFL Draft pool; complete list of ACC, N.C. players

Brant Wilkerson-New

A couple of former Tar Heels will get a shot at pro football next week, with Des Lawrence and Khris Francis among the players eligible for the XFL Draft.

Sharing the same name as its predecessor that lasted one season in 2001, the XFL will return in 2020 with a focus on football rather than the pro wrestling-style entertainment the original league featured.

Lawrence, an All-ACC cornerback at North Carolina, finished his career with three interceptions and 125 passes defended to go with 175 tackles in 32 career appearances.

After going undrafted in 2017, Lawrence spent parts of two offseasons with the Detroit Lions.

A native of Durham, Francis played in 48 games for the Tar Heels, rushing 101 times for 348 yards and a touchdown, adding 20 receptions for 156 yards and a touchdown.

The XFL Draft is set for Oct. 15-16, with the regular season opening one week after the Super Bowl, on Feb. 8, 2020.

Other players eligible for the XFL Draft with ACC and local ties include:

Group 1

Roberto Aguayo - Florida State
Dashawn Benton - East Carolina
Kyle Chung - Virginia Tech
Kennan Gilchrist - Appalachian State
Ryan Green - Florida State
Ladarius Gunter - Miami
Dominique Heath - Appalachian State
Courtel Jenkins - Miami
Jalen Johnson - Georgia Tech 
De'Shawn Jones - Campbell
Vad Lee - James Madison/Georgia Tech
Johnny Maxey - Mars Hill
Julian McKnight - N.C. A&T
CJ Moore - N.C. Central
Reggie Northrop - Florida State
Scott Pagano - Clemson
Marvin Tillman - Western Carolina
Jack Tocho - NC State
Shaq Wiggins - Louisville

Group 2

Kiante Anderson - East Carolina
Drew Bailey - Louisville
Jack Bramswig - Boston College
Kyle Cerge-Henderson - Georgia Tech
Matt Colburn - Wake Forest
Micky Crum - Louisville 
KeShun Freeman - Georgia Tech
Ro'Derrick Hoskins - Florida State
Chris Hubert - Fayetteville State
Jahair Jones - Miami
Keith Kelsey - Louisville
Max McCaffrey - Duke
Phillip Nelson - East Carolina
Scott Orndoff - Pitt
Terrance Parks - Florida State
James Quick - Louisville 
Cam Serigne - Wake Forest
Van Smith - Clemson
Patrick Towles - Boston College 
Brandon Washington - Miami