Skip to main content

MW3 Ranked Play Explained: Skill Divisions, Ranks, & SR

Ranked Play is coming soon, so here’s all the info you need to get Top 250 in Call of Duty Modern Warfare 3

Modern Warfare 3 Season One Reloaded is bringing a ton of new content to Modern Warfare 3 and Warzone. One of the biggest additions is the long-awaited arrival of Ranked Play, which will allow you to compete in 4v4 matches using Call of Duty League rules, and work your way up to be one of the best players in the game. This year, players will need to be Level 55 before they can access Ranked Play. This should help to combat any possible cheaters who are creating new accounts. Here’s everything you need to know about Ranked Play, including the Skill Divisions, Ranks, and how SR works.

MW3 Ranked Play Skill Divisions

MW3 Ranked Play

Skill Divisions in Modern Warfare 3 Ranked Play are brackets that players are groped in depending on their skill level. There are eight Skill Divisions, going from Bronze to Top 250. Players can move up Skill Divisions by earning SR in matches. Each Skill Division has three tiers, and every player will start in Bronze 1 when Ranked Play arrives on January 17, 2024.

  • Bronze – 0-899 SR
  • Silver – 900-2,099 SR
  • Gold – 2,100-3,599 SR
  • Platinum – 3,600-5,399 SR
  • Diamond – 5,400-7,499 SR
  • Crimson – 7,500-9,999 SR
  • Iridescent – 10,000 SR minimum
  • Top 250 – 10,000+ SR

Skill Divisions will reset at the end of every season, with players being reset to three skill divisions lower than where they finished. This means that the highest anyone can begin a Ranked Play season is Diamond 1.

MW3 Ranked Play SR Explained

MW3 Ranked Play 2

Skill Rating (SR), is earned by winning matches and performing well in Ranked Play. Following each match, players will be awarded SR based on their number of skills, time in the objective, and the outcome of the game. Winning matches will almost always increase SR, while losing a match will result in a loss of SR.

MW3 Ranked Play Ranks

Ranks in Modern Warfare 3 Ranked Play are permanent and will persist across seasons. Every player will begin at Rank 1 and can level up by earning a star for each victory. Ranking up will also give you rewards throughout the season:

  • Win five Ranked Play matches to earn the “MWIII Season 1 Competitor” Weapon Sticker.
  • Win 10 Ranked Play matches to earn the “Pro Issue Gutter Knife” Weapon Blueprint.
  • Win 20 Ranked Play matches to earn the “Script Writer” Weapon Charm.
  • Win 30 Ranked Play matches to earn the “Built Different” Large Decal.
  • Win 40 Ranked Play matches to earn the “MWIII Ranked Play Season 1” Loading Screen.
  • Win 50 Ranked Play matches to earn the “MWIII Season 1 Ranked Veteran” Weapon Camo.

In Modern Warfare 2 Ranked Play, there were 50 Ranks to grind through before you reached the cap. We assume that this will be the same for Modern Warfare 3's Ranked Play, however, this is yet to be confirmed by the developers.

That’s everything you need to know about Ranked Play in Modern Warfare 3. Ranked Play will launch on January 17, 2024, and players will be able to jump in right away to grind through the Skill Divisions.