Skip to main content

It's section title week in Minnesota girls hockey: Here are the matchups

Two teams have clinched and 14 more will do the same now through Friday.
  • Author:
  • Publish date:

Can you believe that the Minnesota girls high school hockey state tournament will be played next week? That means this week is loaded with section championship matchups, and while two schools have already punched tickets to the state tourney there are 14 more championship games to go over the next three days. 

The official state tournament brackets will be released on Saturday morning once all section title games are complete. Here's a look at the team's still fighting for a spot in the prestigious state tournament. 

Class AA section title games

Section 1: #1 Northfield vs. #2 Lakeville South

The rivals meet at 7:30 p.m. Thursday in Owatonna. 

Section 2: #1 Minnetonka vs. #3 Holy Family Catholic

Title game is set for 7 p.m. Friday at Edina's Braemar Arena.

Section 3: #3 Apple Valley vs. #4 Rosemount

Championship tilt is Wednesday at 7 p.m. in Inver Grove Heights. Rosemount upset #1 Lakeville North in the section semifinals. 

Section 4: #1 Hill-Murray vs. #2 Stillwater

Showdown set for 7 p.m. Thursday at Aldrich Arena. 

Section 5: #1 Centennial/Spring Lake Park vs. #2 Maple Grove

Title bout goes down Friday at 7 p.m. inside Roseville Ice Arena. 

Section 6: TBD

Valentine's Day semifinal games feature #1 Benilde-St. Margaret's versus #4 Robbinsdale and #2 Edina against #3 Minnetonka. Section title game will be Friday at Parade Ice Arena. 

Section 7: #1 Andover vs. #2 Grand Rapids-Greenway

Championship game is Thursday at 7 p.m. inside Fogarty Arena. 

Section 8: #1 Moorhead vs. #2 Roseau

Section final is 7 p.m. Wednesday in Thief River Falls. 

Screen Shot 2024-02-14 at 10.22.31 AM

Class A section title games

Section 1: #1 Dodge County vs. #2 Simley

Title game is Thursday at 5 p.m. in Owatonna.

Section 2: #1 River Lakes vs. #2 Willmar

Championship set for Thursday at 7:30 p.m. at Gustavus Adolphus.

Section 3: Luverne

#2 Luverne toppled #1 Marshall 4-0 in the section title game on Tuesday.

Section 4: #1 Academy of Holy Angels vs. #2 South St. Paul

Championship is 7 p.m. Thursday at Richfield Ice Arena. 

Section 5: #1 Orono vs. #2 Mound-Westonka/Southwest Christian

Title matchup will be played Wednesday at 7 p.m. in St. Louis Park. 

Section 6: Fergus Falls

#1 Otters defeated #2 Northern Lakes 5-1 in Tuesday's championship. 

Section 7: #1 Duluth-Marshall vs. #2 Proctor/Hermantown

Championship game is Wednesday at 7 p.m. in Proctor. 

Section 8: #1 Warroad vs. #2 Crookston

Section final will go down at 7 p.m. Thursday in Crookston.