NFL will present Deacon Jones Award to sack leader starting in 2013

Saturday June 22nd, 2013

(Dilip Vishwanat/Getty Images) Hall of Fame defensive end Deacon Jones, who died on Thursday, is credited with coining the term "sack." (Dilip Vishwanat/Getty Images)

The NFL will honor late Hall of Fame defensive end Deacon Jones, who died at 74 on Tuesday, by presenting the Deacon Jones Award to the league leader in sacks each season, beginning in 2013, according to's Ian Rapoport.

Jones compiled an unofficial total of 173.5 sacks over his 14 year career (1961-74). He was credited with coining the term "sack," which became an official stat in 1982.

The new award in his name was announced at his memorial service in Los Angeles on Saturday.

On Tuesday, Commissioner Roger Goodell called Jones "an icon among icons." The Texans' J.J. Watt would have received the 2012-13 award after leading the league in sacks with 20.5. Six players have led the league multiple times: Jared Allen, DeMarcus Ware, Michael Strahan, Kevin Greene, Reggie White and Mark Gastineau.

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide - from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Seth Davis, and more - delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.