BIG TEN ANNOUNCES BOWL SELECTION FOR PENN STATE: Nittany Lions chosen to play in Alamo Bowl for first time since 1999

Publish date:

Park Ridge, Ill. – The Big Ten office announced another bowl destination today as Penn State was selected to participate in the Alamo Bowl. An unprecedented 10 of the 11 Big Ten programs have secured bowl-eligibility this season and Wisconsin was chosen to participate in the Outback Bowl earlier this week. The remaining conference bowl lineup is still undetermined. 


Penn State (8-4 overall, 4-4 Big Ten) will take part in the Alamo Bowl for the second time in school history, the Nittany Lions’ first appearance in the event since the 1999 campaign. PSU will battle an opponent from the Big 12 at the Alamodome on Saturday, Dec. 29 at 8 p.m. EST in San Antonio, Texas. Joe Paterno will make his 34th bowl appearance at Penn State and boasts 22 victories, both of which stand as NCAA records. Overall, the school has built a 25-12-2 record in postseason play, including an 8-2 mark since joining the Big Ten in 1993. The Nittany Lions have won their last two bowl games and were victorious in their only previous appearance in the Alamo Bowl, blanking Texas A&M, 24-0, in 1999. The Big Ten has produced a 7-6 record in the Alamo Bowl. 


With the Big Ten’s regular season complete, a record 10 of the 11 conference programs have reached bowl-eligible status. The Big Ten’s bowl-eligible teams include Ohio State at 11-1, Illinois and Wisconsin at 9-3, Michigan and Penn State at 8-4, Indiana, Michigan State and Purdue at 7-5 and Iowa and Northwestern at 6-6. The Big Ten has sent seven teams to bowl games in each of the last two years and set a conference record with eight bowl teams during the 2003 campaign. The Big Ten has seven bowl tie-ins this season - the Rose Bowl/Bowl Championship Series (BCS) game, Capital One, Outback, Alamo, Champs Sports, Insight and Motor City Bowls. If Big Ten Champion Ohio State is ranked No. 1 or No. 2 in the final BCS rankings, then the Buckeyes will participate in the BCS National Championship Game, to be played on Jan. 7, 2008 in New Orleans, La.