Publish date:

Rosemont, Ill. – For the second consecutive year, the conference office announced that the Big Ten Men’s Basketball Tournament is officially sold out. The 2014 event is scheduled for March 13-16 at Bankers Life Fieldhouse in Indianapolis.

The City of Indianapolis and Bankers Life Fieldhouse play host to the 2014 Big Ten Men’s and Women’s Basketball Tournaments. Indianapolis was the first city to host both tournaments in the same year, with 2014 marking the ninth occurrence of this feat. The 2014 edition serves as the 18th time the women’s tournament will be held in Indianapolis, while the men tip off in Indy for the ninth time. The Big Ten Men's and Women’s Basketball Tournaments will also be played at Bankers Life Fieldhouse in 2016.

The Big Ten Men’s Basketball Tournament features 11 games over four days, beginning with four contests on Thursday, and the top four teams will receive byes into the quarterfinal round on Friday. Six different programs have won the Big Ten Tournament. Ohio State has claimed the title four times, including three of the last four years. Michigan State has won the tournament on three occasions, including the last time the event was held in Indianapolis in 2012. Illinois, Iowa and Wisconsin have each won the championship twice, and Purdue has won the tournament once.

The 2014 Big Ten Basketball Tournaments include a number of fan events surrounding the 22 tournament games. These events include the Big Ten Hoops Day 5K, Big Ten Career Expo, Big Ten Thinks Pink, pep rallies in advance of both championship games, restaurant pairings, youth initiatives, and much more. Visit or for more information.