Skip to main content


  • Author:
  • Publish date:

Park Ridge, Ill. – The Big Ten announced on Wednesday the 24 student-athletes named Outstanding Sportsmanship Award winners for the 2011-12 academic year. These individuals were chosen from a group of 300 student-athletes honored throughout the academic year who had displayed positive sportsmanship.

One member of each varsity sports team on every campus was chosen by his or her institution as a Sportsmanship Award honoree. From each university’s list, two Outstanding Sportsmanship Award winners were then selected. All of the Sportsmanship Award honorees have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. In addition, these student-athletes must be in good academic standing and must have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting.

The 2012 Big Ten Outstanding Sportsmanship Award winners appear below, and the complete list of Sportsmanship Award honorees for all sports from each school is attached as a PDF.

2012 Outstanding Sportsmanship Award Winners

Illinois                          Nathan Scheelhaase, Football

Rachel Japp-Joyce, Swimming & Diving

Indiana                         Jordan Hulls, Basketball

Amanda Wagner, Softball

Iowa                            Matt Gatens, Basketball

Betsy Flood, Track and Field

Michigan                      Jordan Kovacs, Football

Courtney Boylan, Basketball

Michigan State             Kirk Cousins, Football

Jenilee Rathje, Volleyball

Scroll to Continue

Read More

Minnesota                    Taylor Matson, Ice Hockey

Anne Schleper, Ice Hockey

Nebraska                     Chris Phipps, Track and Field

Kaitlyn Burke, Basketball

Northwestern                Sam Chien, Golf

Devynn Patterson, Fencing

Ohio State                   Andrew Sweat, Football

Liz Sullivan, Soccer

Penn State                   Scott Rosenthal, Gymnastics

Natalie Ettl, Gymnastics

Purdue                         Joe Haase, Baseball

Ashley Courtney, Softball

Wisconsin                    Kyle Jefferson, Track and Field

Anya Covington, Basketball