Former Spartan Morten Andersen named Man of the Year by the Walter Camp Football Foundation


Man of the Year - MORTEN ANDERSEN
Record-setting placekicker Morten Andersen (Michigan State) is the recipient of the 2008 Walter Camp "Man of the Year" award. Born in Denmark, Andersen attended Michigan State and was named to the 1981 Walter
Camp All-America team.   Anderson is also a member of the Walter Camp
All-Century Team.

After his successful collegiate career, Andersen went on to play 26 seasons in the NFL for five different teams (New Orleans Saints, Atlanta Falcons, New York Giants, Kansas City Chiefs and Minnesota Vikings). Andersen holds the distinction of being the all-time leader scorer in NFL history as well as the all-time leading scorer for two different teams (Saints and Falcons).

A seven-time Pro Bowl selection, Andersen was a member of the NFL
All-Decade Teams for both the 1980s and 1990s.   Andersen also holds the
honor of being the first NFL kicker to kick three field goals of over 50 yards in a single game. For his career, Andersen connected on 565-of-709
(.797 pct.) field goals and 849-of-859 (.988 pct.) extra points for a total of 2,544 points - tops in NFL history.

Andersen joins an impressive list of former "Man of the Year" winners, including Roger Staubach (Navy), Gale Sayers (Kansas), Jim Kelly (Miami), Anthony Muñoz (USC) and last year's recipient Dick Butkus (Illinois).

The Walter Camp "Man of the Year" award honors an individual who has been closely associated with the game of football as a player, coach or close attendant to the game. He must have attained a measure of success and been a leader in his chosen profession. He must have contributed to the public service for the benefit of his community, country and his fellow man. He must have an impeccable reputation for integrity and must be dedicated to our American Heritage and the philosophy of Walter Camp.

Register today for free or log in to access this premium article.