Walter Camp Football Foundation Announces Fifteen "Players to Watch" for 2008 Player of the Year Award

Publish date:

  New Haven, Conn. – The Walter Camp Football Foundation has announced the names of fifteen "Players to Watch" for its 2008 Player of the Year award, the fourth-oldest individual college football award in the nation.

A list of five finalists will be announced on Tuesday, December 2. The 2008 Walter Camp Player of the Year recipient, who is voted on by the Football Bowl Subdivision head coaches and sports information directors, will be announced on Thursday, December 11 during the 6 p.m. edition of ESPN SportsCenter.

The winner will receive his trophy at the Foundation’s annual national awards banquet on Saturday, January 17, 2008 at the Yale University Commons in New Haven. Tickets ($275) are available by calling (203) 288-CAMP.

"It’s been an exciting college football season with many teams and players still in the hunt for national recognition," Walter Camp Football Foundation president John Barbarotta said. "We’ve identified fifteen players to watch because the final few weeks of the regular season should be even more thrilling."

Last year’s recipient was Darren McFadden (Arkansas), who is currently a rookie on the Oakland Raiders.

Walter Camp, "The Father of American football," first selected an All-America team in 1889. Camp – a former Yale University athlete and football coach – is also credited with developing play from scrimmage, set plays, the numerical assessment of goals and tries and the restriction of play to eleven men per side. The Walter Camp Football Foundation – a New Haven-based all-volunteer group – was founded in 1967 to perpetuate the ideals of Camp and to continue the tradition of selecting annually an All-America team.Fifteen "Players to Watch" for the 2008 Walter Camp Player of the Year award include:Sam Bradford, Sophomore, QB, Oklahoma – Has passed for 3,406 yards and 38 touchdowns for the Sooners

Donald Brown, Junior, RB, Connecticut – Leads nation in rushing yards per game (156.2) for the Huskies

Michael Crabtree, Sophomore, WR, Texas Tech – Has 78 receptions and 18 touchdowns for Red Raiders

Chase Daniel, Senior, QB, Missouri – Has passed for 3,264 yards and 28 touchdowns for the Tigers

Jarett Dillard, Senior, WR, Rice – Has 69 catches and 17 touchdowns for the Owls

Graham Harrell, Senior, QB, Texas Tech - Has thrown for 4,077 yards and 36 touchdowns for the Red Raiders

Jerry Hughes, Junior, DL, TCU – Leads the nation with 14 sacks for the Horned Frogs

James Laurinaitis, Senior, LB, Ohio State – Has 101 tackles, two interceptions and five sacks for the Buckeyes.

Jeremy Maclin, Sophomore, WR/KR, Missouri – Averaging 198.5 all-purpose yards per game for the Tigers

Rey Maualuga, Senior, LB, USC - Has 57 tackles and 2 interceptions for the Trojans

Aaron Maybin, Sophomore, DL, Penn State – Has 16.5 tackles for loss, including 11 sacks, for the Nittany Lions

Colt McCoy, Junior, QB, Texas – Has passed for 2,879 yards and 28 touchdowns for the Longhorns

Scott McKillop, Senior, LB, Pittsburgh - Has made 89 tackles (61 solo) for the Panthers

Javon Ringer, Senior, RB, Michigan State – Has 1,548 rushing yards and scored 20 touchdowns for the Spartans

Tim Tebow, Junior, QB, Florida – Has passed for 17 touchdowns and rushed for 10 more for the Gators.