Skip to main content

Fourth in a series marking the 100th season of Nebraska football in Memorial Stadium.

Nebraska football suffered just five home losses in its first 10 years at Memorial Stadium. But there also were seven ties - six of them 0-0 affairs.

The game was like that back then - especially the biggest games. Points were scarce. Punts were not. Field position was paramount, and that often led to booting the ball away on third down, on second down - even on first down.

Still, there was no lack of drama and no shortage of hard-hitting action during this span from 1923 to 1932, and the home fans were treated to five conference titles and a .819 home winning percentage. 

They also witnessed the work of more than a few College Football Hall-of-Famers, including the three pictured above: Cornhusker tackle Ed Weir, Illinois back Red Grange and Nebraska coach Dana X. Bible. Notre Dame's Knute Rockne and his Four Horsemen, legendary figures in the Golden Age of sports, tasted defeat in Memorial Stadium's third game, just as they had in the final game at old Nebraska Field.

Scroll down for a sampling of the action during Memorial Stadium's first 10 seasons. Artificial turf was decades in the future, so don't mind the occasional mud.

Scroll to Continue

Read More

1923: Nebraska 24, Oklahoma 0


1923: Nebraska 14, Notre Dame 7

Dave Noble and Ed Weir football Nebraska

1924: Illinois 9, Nebraska 6

1924 Nebraska-Illinois football winning field goal

1925: Washington 6, Nebraska 6

Frank Dailey 1925 Nebraska vs Washington football wide

1926: Nebraska 15, NYU 7

1926 Nebraska-NYU football field goal

1927: Nebraska 21, Syracuse 0

Glenn Presnell, Nebraska halfback

1928: Pittsburgh 0, Nebraska 0

1928 Nebraska-Pittsburgh football program cover

1931: Nebraska 13, Oklahoma 0

Pass breakup 1931 Nebraska-Oklahoma football
Just the facts: 1923-1932

• Home record: 35-5-7 (.819)

• Overall record 56-19-10 (.718)

• Conference titles: 1923, ’28, ’29, ’31, ’32

• Nebraska All-Americans: Ed Weir, 1924-25; Lonnie Stiner, 1926; Dan McMullen, 1928; Ray Richards, 1929; Hugh Rhea, 1930; Lawrence Ely, 1932.

• Nebraska coaches: Fred Dawson, 1921-24; E. Ernest Bearg, 1925-28; Dana X. Bible, 1929-36.

Postscript: Read all about it


“The moleskin warriors from the wheat plain of Nebraska went wild with fight and played the game with the savage attack that had been smoldering in their hearts for many weeks.”

Memorial Stadium's early years coincided with the Golden Age of sports - and sports writing. The legendary Grantland Rice wasn't alone in serving up elegant descriptions and heroic imagery. Click through to the game stories on HuskerMax for passages like the one above, which was part of the Omaha World-Herald's coverage of the 1923 Notre Dame game.