Skip to main content

Ohio State Quarterback C.J. Stroud Named Manning Award Finalist

Stroud was also a finalist last season, though the award was ultimately won by Alabama's Bryce Young.
  • Author:
  • Publish date:

Ohio State quarterback C.J. Stroud was named on Friday afternoon as one of 11 finalists for the Manning Award, which is presented annually to college football’s best signal-caller and is the only quarterback award that takes a candidate’s bowl performance into consideration.

A redshirt sophomore from Rancho Cucamonga, Calif., Stroud has completed 66.2 percent of his passes this season for 3,340 yards and 37 touchdowns, which is tied for the most in the country with Houston’s Clayton Tune. He also leads the nation in passing efficiency with a 176.25 rating.

Stroud was recently named the Big Ten’s offensive player and quarterback of the year, as well as a finalist for the Maxwell Award, Davey O’Brien Award, Walter Camp Player of the Year and the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award, though that was given this week to TCU’s Max Duggan.

More News From Sports Illustrated: College Football Scoreboard | Pac-12's Resurgence On Full Display In USC-Utah Title Game | What's At Stake In Conference Championships | Rose Bowl 'Thrilled' To Be In Expanded CFP

Other finalists for the Manning Award, which was created to honor the accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning, include Duggan, Alabama’s Bryce Young, Georgia’s Stetson Bennett, Mississippi State’s Will Rogers, North Carolina’s Drake Maye, Oregon’s Bo Nix, Tennessee’s Hendon Hooker, USC’s Caleb Williams, Wake Forest’s Sam Hartman and Washington’s Michael Penix.

Young was selected as last year’s winner, while Stroud was a finalist. A Buckeye has never won the award, though Troy Smith (2006), Terrelle Pryor (2010), Braxton Miller (2012), J.T. Barrett (2014, 2016 and 2017), Dwayne Haskins (2018) and Justin Fields (2019-20) were also finalists.

This year's winner will be announced sometime after the College Football Playoff National Championship, which takes place on Jan. 9, 2023.


Get your Ohio State football and basketball tickets from SI Tickets. Also, be sure to check out our new message boards, Buckeye Forums. We'd love to have you part of the conversation during the season.


Scroll to Continue

Read More

You may also like:

Ohio State DT Taron Vincent Accepts Invitation To East-West Shrine Bowl

WRs Coach Brian Hartline Not Leaving Ohio State For Cincinnati

Report: Ohio State Could Play In Orange Bowl, Not Rose Bowl If It Misses Playoff

College Football Playoff To Expand To 12 Teams Beginning With 2024 Season

Former Ohio State DE Nick Bosa Named NFC Defensive Player Of The Month

Report: Rose Bowl Agrees To Expand Playoff As Soon As 2024


Be sure to stay locked into BuckeyesNow all the time!

Join the BuckeyesNow community!
Subscribe to the BuckeyesNow YouTube channel
Follow Andrew Lind on Twitter: @AndrewMLind
Follow BuckeyesNow on Twitter: @BuckeyesNow_FN
Follow BuckeyesNow on Instagram: @BuckeyesNow_FN

Like and follow BuckeyesNow on Facebook!