Skip to main content

As Street Fighter 6’s open beta approaches, the FGC has grown more excited about the various gameplay changes and improvements that are just around the corner. This includes the ranking system, which has seen a lot of impactful updates.

Capcom is expecting big things with Street Fighter 6. This is thanks to the game’s dynamic gameplay, explosive roster of OP fighters, and the updated ranking system. It’s clear that Capcom has been listening to the fighting game community and hopes to give them what they want.

What Are the Ranks in Street Fighter 6?

In SF6, there are eight leagues:

  • Rookie
  • Iron
  • Bronze
  • Silver
  • Gold
  • Platinum
  • Diamond
  • Master

Within each league, there are five different ranks. This will help create better matchups with two fighters that are at the same skill level as each other.

The way the ranking is determined also depends on which league you’re in. For example, Rookie players are rewarded for win streaks with a bonus. These players will also not lose points for a loss. League demotions also aren’t possible in Iron, Bronze, Silver, and Gold, but if you lose a match, you will lose points.

You can be demoted to a lower league, however, if you lose enough while in Platinum or Diamond. Platinum League and up will also not get a win streak bonus.

Once a player gets to Master League, you can’t be demoted. Basically, you want to get to Master League so you don’t get demoted.

But that’s not the only change. When you jump into ranked mode in SF6, you will be asked how well you played in Street Fighter 5. If you are new to fighting games, you’ll be placed in the Rookie League. You can start in Bronze if you have a bit more fighting game experience.

Before you’re placed in a rank, however, you’ll need to play 10 placement matches. This will further help determine your starting rank.

The Biggest Street Fighter 6 Rank Change

The entire ranked rework is welcomed, but there’s one interesting aspect that is considered the most powerful of all changes. This time around, league points are separated by individual character.

This means that if you play with a certain character and rank up to the next league, you’ll only be in that higher league with that specific character. If you start playing with a new character, you’ll need to work your way up the ranks again.

According to Capcom, this is to “inspire” players to pick up new characters.