Skip to main content

FPS games like Overwatch 2 remain popular for their competitive nature, with dedicated players grinding through the ranks and looking to prove themselves against other high-level competitors. That’s why the Overwatch 2 community is often curious about how the game’s ranking system works and what it truly takes to climb ranks the fastest.

If you’re new to Overwatch, you’ll need to complete 50 matches in Quick Play to unlock Competitive mode. If you owned Overwatch, Competitive will be immediately accessible to you when the game opens.

You’ll notice two game modes in Competitive: Role Queue and Open Queue. Role Queue requires that you and your teammates select the roles you’re willing to play ahead of the match. You’ll then be locked into this role throughout the match, although you can switch heroes from within that category.

Overwatch 2 Ranks

As you start to grind Competitive, you’ll notice that you are moving up or down in rank. There are seven ranks in Overwatch 2 and each one has five separate tiers. Here are the ranks:

  • Bronze
  • Silver
  • Gold
  • Platinum
  • Diamond
  • Master
  • Grandmaster

How Matchmaking Works in Overwatch 2

When you play Competitive mode in Overwatch 2, you are not thrown into a big group of players at random. You will be paired up with and against players that are around your matchmaking rank, or MMR.

Your MMR is determined by your performance and wins. This means it will fluctuate from match to match, impacted by how you do. It tries to be as accurate as possible, reflecting your activity. If you don’t play Competitive for a long period of time, your MMR will start to decline since it’s predicted that you’ll return a bit rusty.

While your MMR is kept secret even to you, there is also a public scoring system called your Skill Rating. This will change after you get five wins of 15 losses. After this, you’ll see which rank you’re in, ranging from Bronze to Grandmaster. Your Skill Rating doesn’t always determine who your teammates and opponents are — you’ll notice that you are often paired up with players that are a few ranks above or below your own.

The Top 500 Leaderboard

The Top 500 is a list of the 500 best ranked players for each role. You don’t have to be a certain rank to get into the Top 500 — you just need consistently positive results and good performances in your matches. Of course, most of the Top 500 players are Grandmaster and Master players.

Overwatch 2 Ranked Rewards

In Overwatch 2, the rewards are a bit different from the original game.

To start getting rewards, you’ll first need to complete the Competitive Role/Open Queue Player challenge. This requires you to win 15 games in either mode every season. After you do this, you can start earning competitive points, which can be used towards golden weapons and titles for your name card.

For every victory, you’ll get 25 competitive points. Every draw, meanwhile, is worth five.

Your rank rewards are based on your final ranks and the highest rank across both queues. You’ll get the reward for whichever queue you ended with the highest rank. For example, if you ended the season in Platinum in Role Queue and Gold in Open Queue, you’ll get the rewards for Role Queue.

Here’s how many competitive points you’ll get based on the rank you end the season in:

  • Bronze - 300
  • Silver - 450
  • Gold - 600
  • Platinum - 800
  • Diamond - 1,000
  • Master - 1,200
  • Grandmaster - 1,500
  • Top 500 - 1,500

How to Check Rank in Overwatch 2

Curious where you stand?

Head to your Career Profile, located in the top-right of the main menu. Head to the Overview section and you’ll see your rank for All Modes. Select Competitive from the drop-down box to see your rank for Competitive modes.