Skip to main content

BREAKING: JJ McCarthy Named Big Ten Quarterback Of The Year

After leading the Wolverines to another perfect 12-0 regular season record on Saturday, Michigan's JJ McCarthy has been named the Big Ten Quarterback of the Year.

It's official: JJ McCarthy has been named as the Griese-Brees Big Ten Quarterback of the Year. McCarthy becomes the first Wolverine to win the award since its inception in 2011. 

Ten of the previous twelve winners were Buckeye quarterbacks, including the last seven years straight prior to McCarthy earning the title.

Here's a look at all of the award winners over the years:

  • 2023: JJ McCarthy, Michigan
  • 2022: CJ Stroud, Ohio State
  • 2021: CJ Stroud, Ohio State
  • 2020: Justin Fields, Ohio State
  • 2019: Justin Fields, Ohio State
  • 2018: Dwayne Haskins, Ohio State
  • 2017: JT Barrett, Ohio State
  • 2016: JT Barrett, Ohio State
  • 2015: Connor Cook, Michigan State
  • 2014: JT Barrett, Ohio State
  • 2013: Braxton Miller, Ohio State
  • 2012: Braxton Miller, Ohio State
  • 2011: Russell Wilson, Wisconsin

McCarthy helped lead the Wolverines to their second consecutive 12-0 regular season record in 2023, capped off by a third-straight win over the Buckeyes last Saturday. 

The junior QB is currently No. 5 in the conference completions, No. 1 in completion percentage, No. 3 in passing yards, and No. 4 in passing touchdowns. McCarthy also ranks No. 1 in the conference in passing efficiency at 176.8, over 15 points higher than Ohio State's Kyle McCord at 161.6.