Skip to main content

Ohio State’s Jerome Baker, Cameron Heyward, Sam Hubbard, Corey Linsley And Denzel Ward Nominated For NFL’s Walter Payton Man Of The Year Award

Wide receiver Cris Carter is the only former Buckeye to win the league's most prestigious honor.

Miami Dolphins linebacker Jerome Baker, Pittsburgh Steelers defensive tackle Cameron Heyward, Cincinnati Bengals defensive end Sam Hubbard, Los Angeles Chargers center Corey Linsley and Cleveland Browns cornerback Denzel Ward were among the former Ohio State players nominated on Tuesday for the NFL’s Walter Payton Man of the Year award.

Established in 1970 and renamed in 1999 in honor of the late Hall of Fame running back, the Walter Payton Man of the Year award is considered the league’s most prestigious honor. It recognizes players who have exhibited excellence on the field, as well as volunteer work off it.

One player from each of the NFL's 32 teams is nominated for the award, with each receiving a $40,000 donation in their name to the charity of their choice. They’re also given a helmet decal depicting the trophy to wear for the remainder of the season.

The winner, meanwhile, will be revealed during the NFL Honors awards show on Feb. 10. He will receive a $250,000 donation in his name to the charity of his choice, as well as a patch depicting the trophy to wear on his uniform for the rest of his career.

“These 32 men represent their many teammates who do incredible things in their communities," NFL commissioner Roger Goodell said in a statement. “Their unwavering commitment to their hometowns and team communities embodies Walter's spirit of giving back in a way that makes us all incredibly proud of the work they are doing every day.”

Ohio State leads the nation with five Walter Payton Man of the Year award nominees, while Alabama has the second-most with four. Wide receiver Cris Carter is the only former Buckeye to win the award, doing so in 1999.

Other nominees include:

  • Washington Football Team defensive tackle Jonathan Allen
  • San Francisco 49ers defensive end Arik Armstead
  • Minnesota Vikings linebacker Anthony Barr
  • Arizona Cardinals offensive tackle Kelvin Beachum
  • Baltimore Ravens center Bradley Bozeman
  • Detroit Lions fullback Jason Cabinda
  • Atlanta Falcons running back Mike Davis
  • Tampa Bay Buccaneers wide receiver Mike Evans
  • Chicago Bears tight end Jimmy Graham
  • New England Patriots defensive end Lawrence Guy
  • Tennessee Titans running back Derrick Henry
  • Jacksonville Jaguars linebacker Myles Jack
  • Green Bay Packers running back Aaron Jones
  • New Orleans Saints defensive end Cameron Jordan
  • Philadelphia Eagles center Jason Kelce
  • Seattle Seahawks wide receiver Tyler Lockett
  • Kansas City Chiefs safety Tyrann Mathieu
  • Carolina Panthers wide receiver D.J. Moore
  • Indianapolis Colts cornerback Kenny Moore II
  • Buffalo Bills defensive tackle Harrison Phillips
  • Dallas Cowboys quarterback Dan Prescott
  • Houston Texans safety Justin Reid
  • New York Giants safety Logan Ryan
  • Denver Broncos safety Justin Simmons
  • Las Vegas Raiders tight end Darren Waller
  • Los Angeles Rams center Andrew Whitworth
  • New York Jets defensive tackle Quinnen Williams


Be sure to check out our new message boards, Buckeye Forums. We'd love to have you part of the conversation during the season.


You may also like:

Commits Kenyatta Jackson, Gabe Powers Named Gatorade Players Of The Year

Report: Ohio State No Longer Pursuing LSU Transfer CB Elias Ricks

Ohio State QB C.J. Stroud Named Heisman Trophy Finalist

Ryan Day, Kyle Whittingham Motivated To Finish Season With Rose Bowl Win

Ryan Day Caught Off Guard By Quinn Ewers’ Decision To Enter Transfer Portal

Ohio State To Wear Home Uniforms In Rose Bowl Game Against Utah


Be sure to stay locked into BuckeyesNow all the time!

Join the BuckeyesNow community!
Subscribe to the BuckeyesNow YouTube channel
Follow Andrew on Twitter: @AndrewMLind
Follow BuckeyesNow on Twitter: @BuckeyesNowSI
Like and follow BuckeyesNow on Facebook!