Skip to main content

Lawmakers to NCAA: Restore the vacated 2010 Ohio State football season

In 2010, Ohio State went 12-1 and beat Arkansas in the Sugar Bowl, but vacated those wins after players allegedly sold personal memorabilia in exchange for tattoos.

Now, with NIL taking over college football, the Ohio state legislature wants those wins back.

The state's House of Representatives adopted a resolution calling on the NCAA to restore the Buckeyes' vacated wins and records from the 2010 football season.

Ohio to NCAA: Give the Buckeyes their wins back

Introduced by Rep. Brian Stewart, the resolution has 19 co-sponsors and still has to go before a vote in the Ohio State Senate.

“We, the members of the 134th General Assembly of the State of Ohio, urge the National Collegiate Athletics Association to restore the vacated wins and records from the 2020 football season of the Ohio State University,” the resolution reads. 

“And be it further resolved, that the clerk of the House of Representatives shall transmit duly authenticated copies of this resolution to the National Collegiate Athletics Association and the news media of Ohio.”

A season to remember

The resolution notes how several players on that Ohio State team had record seasons, in particular Terrelle Pryor, who moved into the top-five in Buckeyes history with 2,772 passing yards and 27 touchdowns scored.

DeVier Posey also finished top five in program history with 53 catches for 848 yards and seven receiving touchdowns on the year.

Daniel "Boom" Herron rushed for 1,155 yards and 16 touchdowns on the ground.

Ohio State defeated Arkansas in the Sugar Bowl, the program's first win over an SEC team in a bowl game.

OSU lost one game in 2010, on the road against No. 18 Wisconsin, and that result remains on the books, bringing the Buckeyes' official record to 0-1 for the season.

After an investigation into "Tattoogate", Jim Tressel resigned his post as Ohio State football coach. Luke Fickell stepped in as interim head coach for the 2011 season, losing to Michigan and ending OSU's then seven-game win streak over its rival.

Urban Meyer stepped in the following season, winning the first-ever College Football Playoff national championship, among other accomplishments.

(h/t Ohio State Legislature)

Follow College Football HQ: Bookmark | Facebook | Twitter