Skip to main content

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. – The Big Ten released its full 2021-22 basketball schedule on Wednesday, and several big dates jump out on the 20-game league schedule for Indiana. It starts in 63 days, with the first Big Ten game at home against Nebraska on Saturday, Dec. 4.

The schedule was released during a 30-minute show on the Big Ten Network. The league, which had nine teams in the NCAA Tournament last year, should be strong once again.

Here is the Big Ten's opening weekend schedule:

  • Dec. 3 – Iowa at Purdue; Rutgers at Illinois
  • Dec. 4 – Nebraska at Indiana
  • Dec. 5 –Northwestern at Maryland; Ohio State at Penn State

Indiana released its full basketball schedule a few minutes after the show. Here is Indiana's complete 2021-22 schedule: 

November 

  • Nov. 9 (Tuesday) – Eastern Michigan vs. Indiana at Simon Skjodt Assembly Hall in Bloomington, Ind. 
  • Nov. 12 (Friday) – Northern Illinois vs. Indiana at Simon Skjodt Assembly Hall in Bloomington, Ind. 
  • Nov. 17 (Wednesday) – Gavitt Tipoff Games: St. John’s vs. Indiana at Simon Skjodt Assembly Hall in Bloomington, Ind. 
  • Nov. 21 (Sunday)– Hoosier Classic: Louisiana vs. Indiana at Simon Skjodt Assembly Hall in Bloomington, Ind. 

  • Nov. 23  (Tuesday) – Hoosier Classic: Jackson State vs. Indiana at Simon Skjodt Assembly Hall in Bloomington, Ind. 

  • Nov. 27 (Saturday) – Marshall vs. Indiana at Simon Skjodt Assembly Hall in Bloomington, Ind.
  • Nov. 30 (Tuesday) – Big Ten/ACC Challenge: Indiana at Syracuse at the Carrier Dome in Syracuse, N.Y.  

Read More

December

  • Dec. 4 (Saturday) – Nebraska vs. Indiana * at Simon Skjodt Assembly Hall in Bloomington, Ind.
  • Dec. 8 (Wednesday) – Indiana at Wisconsin * at Kohl Center in Madison, Wis.
  • Dec. 12 (Sunday) – Merrimack vs. Indiana at Simon Skjodt Assembly Hall in Bloomington, Ind.
  • Dec. 18 (Saturday) – Crossroads Classic: Indiana vs. Notre Dame at Bankers Life Fieldhouse in Indianapolis, Ind.
  • Dec. 22 (Wednesday) – Northern Kentucky vs. Indiana at Simon Skjodt Assembly Hall in Bloomington, Ind. 
  • Dec. 29 (Wednesday) – UNC Asheville vs. Indiana at Simon Skjodt Assembly Hall in Bloomington, Ind. 

January

  • Jan. 2 (Sunday) – Indiana vs. Penn State * at Bryce Jordan Center in University Park, Pa. 
  • Jan. 6 (Thursday) – Ohio State vs. Indiana * at Simon Skjodt Assembly Hall in Bloomington, Ind. 
  • Jan. 9 (Sunday) – Minnesota vs. Indiana * at Simon Skjodt Assembly Hall in  Bloomington, Ind.

  • Jan. 13 (Thursday) – Indiana vs. Iowa * at Carver-Hawkeye Arena in Iowa City, Iowa 

  • Jan. 17 (Monday) – Indiana vs. Nebraska * at Pinnacle Bank Arena in Lincoln, Neb.

  • Jan. 20 (Thursday) – Purdue vs. Indiana * at Simon Skjodt Assembly Hall in Bloomington, Ind.
  • Jan. 23 (Sunday) –  Michigan vs. Indiana * at Simon Skjodt Assembly Hall in Bloomington, Ind.

  • Jan. 26 (Wednesday) – Penn State vs. Indiana * at Simon Skjodt Assembly Hall in Bloomington, Ind.

  • Jan. 29 (Saturday) – Indiana vs. Maryland * at Xfinity Center, College Park, Md. 

February

  • Feb. 5 (Saturday) – Illinois vs. Indiana * at Simon Skjodt Assembly Hall in Bloomington, Ind.

  • Feb. 8 (Tuesday) – Indiana vs. Northwestern * at Welsh-Ryan Arena in Evanston, Ill.  

  • Feb. 12 (Saturday) – Indiana at Michigan State * at Breslin Center in East Lansing, Mich.

  • Feb. 15 (Tuesday) – Wisconsin vs. Indiana * at Simon Skjodt Assembly Hall in * Bloomington, Ind.

  • Feb. 19 (Saturday) – Indiana at Ohio State * at the Schottenstein Center in Columbus, Ohio.
  • Feb. 24 (Thursday) – Maryland at Indiana * at Simon Skjodt Assembly Hall in  Bloomington, Ind.
  • Feb. 27 (Sunday) – Indiana vs. Minnesota * at Williams Arena in Minneapolis, Minn. 

March

  • March 2 (Wednesday) – Rutgers vs. Indiana * at Simon Skjodt Assembly Hall in  Bloomington, Ind.
  • March 5 (Saturday) – Indiana vs. Purdue *  in Mackey Arena in West Lafayette, Ind.
  • March 9-13 (Wed.-Sun.) – Big Ten Tournament at Bankers Life Fieldhouse in Indianapolis, Ind. 

* = Big Ten games

Here is how often Indiana will play conference opponents  during its 20-game Big Ten schedule: 

  • Home and Away: Purdue, Maryland, Minnesota, Nebraska, Ohio State, Penn State, Wisconsin.
  • Home Only: Illinois, Michigan, Rutgers.
  • Away Only: Iowa, Michigan State, Northwestern.