Mississippi State WR Austin Williams Makes Preseason Watch List for Wuerffel Trophy

The preseason accolades keep adding up for Austin Williams.
Publish date:

Mississippi State wide receiver Austin Williams has received a good bit of recognition ahead of the 2021 season -- and rightfully so.

Williams, recently named a First-Team Academic All-American, also made the preseason watch list for the Wuerffel Trophy.

The Wuerffel Trophy is known as "college football's premier award for community service" and is presented annually in Fort Walton Beach, Florida.

It is named after former Florida Heisman Trophy-winning quarterback Danny Wuerffel, and "exists to honor college football players who serve others, celebrate their positive impact on society, and inspire greater service in the world."

Williams has been an outstanding leader for the Bulldogs and off the field, earning a high level of respect from his teammates and MSU head coach Mike Leach.

The wideout has maintained a 4.0 GPA in both his undergraduate studies and MBA while handling quite the workload between the classroom and as a starter for the team.

Williams was also selected to speak at the MSU Foundation board meeting back in April.

In three seasons at State, the 6-foot-3, 200-pounder has caught 64 passes for 628 yards with eight touchdowns.

2020 was a breakout year for Williams, as he reeled in 43 receptions for 372 yards with three touchdowns.

Here's a look at the complete 2021 watch list for the Wuerffel Trophy:

Bubba Arslanian, Akron University, Junior, Linebacker

Thomas Hennigan, Appalachian State University, Senior, Wide Receiver

Jackson He, Arizona State University, Junior, Running Back

Andre Harris, Jr., Arkansas State University, Junior, Offensive Line

Nick Brahms, Auburn University, Senior, Offensive Line

Bryce Cosby, Ball State University, Senior, Defensive Back

Brandon Martin, Ball State University, Senior, Linebacker

Byron Hanspard, Jr., Baylor University, Junior, Defensive Back

Kekaula Kaniho, Boise State University, Senior, Defensive Back

James Empey, Brigham Young University, Junior, Offensive Line

Darien Rencher, Clemson University, Senior, Running Back

Kennedy Roberts, Coastal Carolina University, Junior, Defensive Line

A'Jon Vivensm Colorado State University, Junior, Running Back

Jake Bobo, Duke University, Senior, Wide Receiver/Special Teams

Holten Ahers, East Carolina University, Senior, Quarterback

Tariq Speights, Eastern Michigan University, Senior, Linebacker

Camren McDonald, Florida State University, Junior, Tight End

Juanyeh Thomas, Georgia Institute of Technology, Junior, Defensive Back

Michael Ziemba, Indiana University, Senior, Linebacker

Brock Purdy, Iowa State University, Senior, Quarterback

Skylar Thompson, Kansas State University, Senior, Quarterback

Isaac Vance, Kent State University, Senior, Wide Receiver

Sam Allan, Kent State University, Senior, Offensive Line

Damone Clark, Louisiana State University, Senior, Linebacker

Joshua Mote, Louisiana Tech University, Junior, Offensive Line

Reeves Blankenship, Louisiana Tech University, Junior, Long Snapper

Alex Mollette, Marshall University, Senior, Offensive Line

Reed Blankenship, Middle Tennessee State University, Senior, Defensive Back

Austin Williams, Mississippi State University, Senior, Wide Receiver

Sage Doxtater, New Mexico State University, Senior, Offensive Line

Isaiah Moore, North Carolina State University, Senior, Linebacker

Joe Spivak, Northwestern University, Senior, Defensive Line

Ryan Hilinski, Northwestern University, Sophomore, Quarterback

Harry Miller, Ohio State University, Junior, Offensive Line

Jordan Young, Old Dominion University, Senior, Linebacker

Jaydon Grant, Oregon State University, Junior, Defensive Back

Sean Clifford, Pennsylvania State University, Senior, Quarterback

Ikenna Enechukwu, Rice University, Sophomore, Defensive Line

Tysyn Parker, San Jose State University, Senior, Linebacker

Shaine Hailey, Southern Methodist University, Senior, Linebacker

Isaiah Sanders, Stanford University, Senior, Quarterback

Kingsley Jonathan, Syracuse University, Senior, Defensive Line

Re-Al Mitchell, Temple University, Sophomore, Quarterback

Keldrick Carper, Texas A&M University, Senior, Defensive Back

Obinna Eze, Texas Christian University, Junior, Offensive Line

Tyler Vitt, Texas State University, Junior, Quarterback

Tony Bradford, Jr., Texas Tech University, Junior, Defensive Line

Luke Whittemore, Troy University, Junior, Wide Receiver

Nick Anderson, Tulane University, Junior, Linebacker

Chris Owens, University of Alabama, Senior, Offensive Line

Colby Ragland, University of Alabama at Birmingham, Senior, Offensive Line

Bryce Wolma, University of Arizona, Senior, Tight End

Jordan Silver, University of Arkansas, Senior, Long Snapper

Michael Saffell, University of California, Senior, Offensive Line

Nate Landman, University of Colorado, Senior, Linebacker

Brian Keating, University of Connecticut, Senior, Long Snapper

Zachary Carter, University of Florida, Senior, Defensive Line

Nakobe Dean, University of Georgia, Junior, Linebacker

Hekili Keliiliki, University of Hawai'i, Junior, Running Back/Linebacker

Marcus Jones, University of Houston, Senior, Defensive Back/Special Teams

Michael Marchese, University of Illinois, Senior, Tight End

Kaevon Merriweather, University of Iowa, Junior, Defensive Back

Kwamie Lassiter II, University of Kansas, Senior, Wide Receiver

Kenneth Horsey, University of Kentucky, Junior, Offensive Line

Levi Lewis, University of Louisiana, Senior, Quarterback

Brian Cobbs, University of Maryland, Senior, Wide Receiver

Preston Brady, University of Memphis, Senior, Long Snapper

Tanner Morgan, University of Minnesota, Senior, Quarterback

Mac Brown, University of Mississippi, Senior, Punter

Tyler Badie, University of Missouri, Senior, Running Back

Ben Stille, University of Nebraska, Senior, Defensive Line

Peter Agabe, University of North Carolina at Charlotte, Senior, Linebacker

Myron Tagovailoa-Amosa, University of Notre Dame, Senior, Defensive Line

Pat Fields, University of Oklahoma, Senior, Defensive Back

Cal Adomitis, University of Pittsburgh, Senior, Long Snapper

Deslin Alexandre, University of Pittsburgh, Senior, Defensive Line

Keith Gallmon, University of South Alabama, Junior, Defensive Back

Spencer Eason-Riddle, University of South Carolina, Senior, Linebacker

Matthew Butler, University of Tennessee, Senior, Defensive Line

Hunter Duplessis, University of Texas at San Antonio, Senior, Kicker

Bailey Flint, University of Toledo, Senior, Punter

Chris Paul, University of Tulsa, Senior, Offensive Line

Mika Tafua, University of Utah, Junior, Defensive Line

Race Porter, University of Washington, Senior, Punter

Faion Hicks, University of Wisconsin, Senior, Defensive Back

Calvin Tyler, Jr., Utah State University, Junior, Running Back

Elijah McAllister, Vanderbilt University, Senior, Linebacker

Brock Hoffman, Virginia Tech University, Junior, Offensive Line

Tyriq Hardimon, Wake Forest University, Junior, Defensive Back

Evan Staley, West Virginia University, Senior, Kicker

Jarret Doege, West Virginia University, Senior, Quarterback

Sean Mahone, West Virginia University, Senior, Defensive Back

Mike Caliendo, Western Michigan University, Senior, Offensive Line