Skip to main content

Ohio State’s C.J. Stroud, TreVeyon Henderson And Denzel Burke Named Shaun Alexander Freshman Of The Year Award Semifinalists

The Buckeyes are the only program in the country with three players on the list.

Ohio State quarterback C.J. Stroud, running back TreVeyon Henderson and cornerback Denzel Burke were named on Thursday as semifinalists for the Shaun Alexander Freshman of the Year Award, which is presented annually to the most outstanding freshman in college football.

Stroud, a redshirt freshman from Rancho Cucamonga, Calif., has thrown for 3,862 yards and 38 touchdowns compared to just five interceptions in 11 games this season. He was named the Big Ten’s offensive player, quarterback and freshman of the year as a result.

Henderson, a true freshman from Hopewell, Va., has rushed for 1,172 yards and 15 touchdowns this fall. He’s also caught 23 passes for 285 yards and four touchdowns to break Maurice Clarett’s freshman record for touchdowns in a season with 19 total scores.

Burke, last but not least, started all 12 games for the Buckeyes, becoming the first true freshman to start a season opener on defense since Andy Katzenmoyer in 1996. The Scottsdale, Ariz., native allowed just 30 catches for 321 yards and zero touchdowns in coverage this fall.

Ohio State is the only school in the country with three players on the list, though top-ranked Georgia has two in tight end Brock Bowers and cornerback Kelee Ringo.

Other semifinalists include Clemson safety Andrew Mukuba, Coastal Carolina defensive end Josaiah Stewart, Marshall running back Ali Rasheen, Miami quarterback Tyler Van Dyke, Oklahoma quarterback Caleb Williams, Oklahoma State defensive end Collin Oliver, Texas wide receiver Xavier Worthy, Texas A&M cornerback Tyreek Chappell and Wisconsin running back Braelon Allen.

The award, which is named after former Alabama and Seattle Seahawks running back Shaun Alexander, has been presented annually since 2018. Past winners include Clemson quarterback Trevor Lawrence, Memphis running back Kenneth Gainwell and Alabama linebacker Will Anderson Jr.

Three finalists for this year’s award will be named on Dec. 21, while the winner will be announced on Jan. 10.


Be sure to check out our new message boards, Buckeye Forums. We'd love to have you part of the conversation during the season.


You may also like:

Ohio State To Face Utah Or Oregon In Rose Bowl In Most Bowl Projections

Former Ohio State LB Marcus Freeman To Be Named Notre Dame Head Coach

2022 Utah QB Devin Brown Commits To Ohio State

How Brown's Commitment Impacts Ohio State's 2022 Recruiting Class

C.J. Stroud Named Big Ten Offensive Player, QB And Freshman Of Year

Stroud, Olave, Munford and Petit-Frere Named First-Team All-Big Ten


Be sure to stay locked into BuckeyesNow all the time!

Join the BuckeyesNow community!
Subscribe to the BuckeyesNow YouTube channel
Follow Andrew on Twitter: @AndrewMLind
Follow BuckeyesNow on Twitter: @BuckeyesNowSI
Like and follow BuckeyesNow on Facebook!