Skip to main content

Ohio State’s C.J. Stroud, TreVeyon Henderson, Jaxon Smith-Njigba Named Big Ten East Division Preseason Honorees

The Buckeyes lead the conference with three selections, while Wisconsin has two in the West Division.

The Big Ten announced on Monday afternoon that Ohio State quarterback C.J. Stroud, running back TreVeyon Henderson and wide receiver Jaxon Smith-Njigba were among the five players named preseason honorees in the conference’s East Division.

Michigan running back Blake Corum and Michigan State wide receiver Jayden Reed also represent the East Division, while Iowa linebacker Jack Campbell, Northwestern offensive tackle Peter Skoronski, Purdue quarterback Aidan O’Connell and Wisconsin running back Braelon Allen and linebacker Nick Herbig round out the selections in the West Division.

Stroud, a redshirt sophomore from Rancho Cucamonga, Calif., was the lone unanimous selection of the group after he threw for 4,435 yards and 44 touchdowns last season to be named a finalist for the Heisman Trophy and Davey O’Brien Award, as well as the Big Ten player, quarterback and freshman of the year.

Henderson, meanwhile, is coming off a record-breaking season in which he rushed for 1,248 yards and 15 touchdowns and caught 27 passes for 312 yards and four more scores. The former five-star prospect from Hopewell, Va., scored 19 total touchdowns to break Maurice Clarett’s freshman record, set in 2002.

Last but not least, Smith-Njigba had a breakout sophomore season last fall, as he caught a school-record 95 passes for 1,606 yards and nine touchdowns, including 15 catches for a bowl-record 347 yards and three touchdowns in the Rose Bowl win over Utah. The Rockwall, Texas, native is now widely regarded as the top wide receiver in college football.

Stroud and Smith-Njigba will represent the Buckeyes at Big Ten Media Days, which begin on Tuesday. They’ll be joined in Indianapolis by head coach Ryan Day and redshirt junior safety Ronnie Hickman are schedule to speak with the media on Wednesday.


Be sure to check out our new message boards, Buckeye Forums. We'd love to have you part of the conversation during the season.


You may also like:

Countdown To Kickoff 2022: Ohio State Rallies Past TCU, 40-28

Ohio State's Denzel Burke, Ronnie Hickman On Thorpe Award Watch List

Countdown To Kickoff 2022: Ohio State Shocks Minnesota, 41-37

Former Ohio State QB J.T. Barrett Joins Detroit Lions Coaching Staff

Countdown To Kickoff 2022: Ohio State Runs Over Oregon, 42-20

Ohio State C Luke Wypler On Rimington Trophy Watch List


Be sure to stay locked into BuckeyesNow all the time!

Join the BuckeyesNow community!
Subscribe to the BuckeyesNow YouTube channel
Follow Andrew on Twitter: @AndrewMLind
Follow BuckeyesNow on Twitter: @BuckeyesNowSI

Like and follow BuckeyesNow on Facebook!