OU Offensive Line Named to Joe Moore Award Mid-Season Honor Roll

Joe Fan Sports

OU Offensive line has been selected as one of 24 lines for consideration on the midseason honor roll for the Joe Moore Award as the best O' line in College Football as announced Tuesday by The Foundation for Teamwork, OU is coming off winning the same Award in 2018.   

This is quite an accomplishment for a line that replaced 4 drafted players, with only Creed Humphrey returning,  OU Offensive Line Coach Bill Bedenbaugh has melded 4 new starters into a cohesive group that seems to be getting better each week, Bedenbaugh has started at least 7 linemen so far this season those are Adrian Early, Marquise Hayes, Creed Humphrey, J R Proctor, Tyrese Robinson, Eric Swenson and Brey Walker. 

OU ranks first Nationally with 12.6 yds per pass attempt and 7.4 yds per rush attempt plus OU is leading the nation averaging  9.6 yds per offensive play, nearly 2 yds more than the next highest avg [ LSU @ 7.9]. Last year, OU's line set the FBS single season record by avg 8.6 yds per play. 

This year, the Sooners rank 4th nationally by allowing 0.7 sacks per game with only 5 sacks in 7 games. On top of all that the Sooners O' line has been instrumental in helping OU lead the nation  in scoring at 50.4 pts per game AND in total Offense per game [612.9] "Its a testament to their coaching that Oklahoma is even back on our radar after losing 4 guys to the NFL"said the Joe Moore voting committee. 

The semifinalists will be announced on Nov. 19 and Finalists on Dec. 10

Comments (1)

That's RJ Proctor not "JR" Proctor