Skip to main content

Samuel Cosmi Named to Outland Trophy Watch List

Junior OL Samuel Cosmi is a candidate for the award that honors college football’s top interior lineman.

Texas Football junior OL Samuel Cosmi was named to the Outland Trophy preseason watch list, the Football Writers Association of America announced Tuesday. The Outland Trophy is awarded annually the nation’s top interior lineman.

A trio of Longhorns have previously won the Outland Trophy (Scott Appleton, 1963; Tommy Nobis, 1965; Brad Shearer, 1977), and four others have been finalists (Dan Neil, 1996; Leonard Davis, 2000; Justin Blalock, 2006; Malcom Brown, 2014).

Cosmi, a Humble, Texas native, is a fourth-year offensive lineman who has played in 27 career games with 26 starts. He was a second-team All-Big 12 performer and honorable mention as the Big 12 Offensive Lineman of the Year last season, as well as a USA Today Freshman All-American in 2018. Last season, he anchored an offensive line that was named to the Joe Moore Award Midseason Honor Roll and helped the Longhorns win their third-straight bowl game with victory over No. 11 Utah in the Valero Alamo Bowl. Cosmi earned All-Bowl recognition from the Associated Press, ESPN and Sports Illustrated for his performance against the Utes.

In addition to being an Outland Trophy candidate, Cosmi has also been recognized as a first-team Walter Camp Preseason All-American and a unanimous Preseason All-Big 12 selection this year.

Scroll to Continue

Recommended Articles

Zane Morehouse

Longhorns Projected For Fourth Place Finish in Big 12

Expectations are all over the place for the Longhorns this season, with the official Big 12 predictions placing them at fourth.

Steve Sarkisian

Texas Officially Sets Date For Orange-White Spring Game

The Longhorns will see Arch Manning and the new faces come mid-April.

Kolaj Cobbins

Weekend UT Visitor, Blue-Chip Recruit Cobbins Has Horns in Top Group

Texas Longhorns Recruiting Tracker: Check back often as we keep you up-to-date on Longhorns news as Texas looks to improve on an already impressive class

The recipient of the 75th Outland Trophy will be announced during ESPN’s The Home Depot College Football Awards on Dec. 10. The winner will be chosen from three finalists who are a part of the annual FWAA All-America Team, which is voted upon by the FWAA All-America Committee.