Kalin Lucas, Draymond Green and Raymar Morgan Earn Team MVP Honors At Awards Banquet Draymond Green Takes Home Four Awards.

Publish date:


Kalin Lucas won his second consecutive MVP award.  Photo courtesy of Mark Boomgaard.

Kalin Lucas won his second consecutive MVP award. Photo courtesy of Mark Boomgaard.


EAST LANSING, Mich. -- Raymar Morgan, Kalin Lucas and Draymond Green shared team MVP honors at the 2010 Men’s Basketball Awards Banquet, held Monday, March 15 at the Breslin Center . Morgan and Lucas shared the team vote, while Green collected the media vote. Green took home four awards on the evening.


Lucas, the 2009 team MVP, led Michigan State in scoring at 14.9 points per game and assists at 3.9 per contest. He earned First-Team All-Big Ten honors for the second-straight season, becoming just the 13th player in MSU history to twice earn first-team honors. Morgan is Michigan State ’s second-leading scorer (11.5 ppg) and rebounder (6.2 rpg). He enters the NCAA Tournament on a strong note, having led the team in scoring in each of the last four contests, averaging 19.3 points. Green has led the Spartans in rebounding all season (7.9 rpg) and paces MSU with seven double-doubles.


In addition to media MVP honors, Green took home three other awards. He was the recipient of the Most Improved Player Award. One season after averaging 3.3 points and 3.3 rebounds in 11.4 minutes, Green enters the NCAA Tournament averaging 10.1 points and 7.9 boards in 25.4 minutes. With his 7.9 rebounding average, Green collected the Jumpin’ Johnny Green Chairman of the Boards Award. He currently ranks third in the Big Ten in rebounding. Johnny Green presented the award as his name was added to the award this season. For his career, Johnny Green averaged an MSU-best 16.4 rebounds per contest, including a Spartan single-season record 17.8 rpg as a junior in 1957-58.


Draymond Green also was recognized for his intangibles and toughness as the recipient of the Antonio Smith Glue and Guts Award. The award was presented by former Spartan Travis Walton, the recipient of the Glue and Guts Award the three previous years.


Isaiah Dahlman was a multiple winner, receiving the Unsung Player and Inspirational Player Awards. Dahlman started eight games as a freshman, but would not start another game until starting three as a senior. Even as he saw his playing time decrease, he maintained a positive team-first attitude and was added as a captain before the start of the 2010 Big Ten season. Athletic trainer Tom Mackowiak also was an honorary recipient of the Unsung Player Award.


Morgan picked up his second award of the evening with the John E. Benington Best Defensive Player Award, sharing the honor with Chris Allen.


Junior Mike Kebler and red-shirt junior Tom Herzog were co-recipients of the Scholar-Athlete Award. This marks the third-straight season Herzog has received the award and the second straight year for Kebler.


Senior Jon Crandell was the recipient of the Tim Bograkos Walk-On Award. Justin Munson and Robby Smith were honored with the Senior Manager Award.