Skip to main content

The CIF State Office recently announced the Section nominees for the NFHS California Coach of the Year award for the 2019-20 school year.

Per the CIF, “The coaches were selected based on the positive work they have done with the student-athletes in their respective sports programs.”

SBLive is taking a closer look at the nominees from each of the state’s 10 Sections. Here are the nominees from the North Coast Section:

Ken Arnerich – Alameda – Baseball

Arnerich has been Alameda's head coach since 2004 and has won numerous awards for his success with the Hornets.

Mike Saia – Marin Catholic – Boys Basketball

Saia led the Wildcats to a CIFNCS Division 4 semifinals appearance in 2019-20, and a CIF Division III state playoffs berth.

Chris Gomez – Fremont Christian – Girls Basketball

Fremont Christian went 21-5 and won a league title in 2019-20.

Chris Williams – Dublin – Boys Cross Country

In his tenure with the Gaels, Williams has guided Dublin to regular dominance and its first ever NCS championship in 2016.

Ruth Seabrook – Northgate – Girls Cross Country

Seabrook led Northgate to a sixth-place finish at NCS in 2019.

Tim Murphy – Clayton Valley Charter – Football

The Ugly Eagles won a Division II section title, and their first ever CIF state championship at the 2-AA level in 2019-20.

Terry Eidson – De La Salle – Boys Golf

Eidson is not only the longtime defensive coordinator of one of the most storied programs in high school football history, but also the Spartans' standout golf coach. His work includes a 2016 NCS title.

Jon Schwan – Montgomery – Boys Soccer

Montgomery went a staggering 26-0-1 on its way to winning a CIF Division I Northern California Regional Championship.

Shane Kennedy – Tamalpais – Girls Soccer

Kennedy guided Tamalpais to a NCS Division II title and 19-2-2 finish in 2019-20.

Mike Cobb – Bishop O’Dowd – Softball

Bishop O'Dowd won an NCS Division II title under Cobb in 2019.

Denise Murray – Jesse Bethel – Spirit

Murray guides the cheer program at Jesse Bethel in Vallejo.

William Gaebler – Berkeley – Girls Swim & Dive

Gaebler has coached at BHS for 30 years, coaching girls swimming and both boys and girls water polo.

Mike McCollum – Miramonte – Boys Tennis

McCollum has long run a strong program at Miramonte, which won a 2012 NCS title under his guidance.

Mariella Dela Cruz – Jesse Bethel – Girls Tennis

Dela Cruz was named the Northern California High School Girls Coach of the Year by the United States Professional Tennis Association for guiding the Jaguars to the 2019 NCS playoffs.

Mike Buckley – Convent & Stuart Hall – Boys Track & Field

The list of accomplishments for the longtime Stuart Hall head coach includes four NCS Class A titles from 2014-18.

Jake Spain – Marin Catholic – Girls Volleyball

MC made it to the 2019 CIF State Open Division title game. The Wildcats won four straight section titles under Spain from 2014-2017.

Johann Gerlach – Sir Francis Drake – Boys Wrestling

Gerlach has received numerous honors for his work at Drake, including a REWOCA 2018 Person of the Year award.

Sabrina Ross – Castro Valley – Girls Wrestling

Ross led the Castro Valley girls wrestling team to a second-place finish at the 2020 NCS/OC girls wrestling championships.