Skip to main content

Oregon high school basketball all-stars: Boys and girls rosters announced for Northwest Shootout 2024

The Northwest Shootout, known as WAVOR the previous two years, will take place April 14 in Portland

With an old name and a new home, the 28th annual Northwest Shootout will take place April 14 at Portland Community College’s Cascade campus in North Portland.

The annual interstate matchup of all-star basketball teams comprised of many of the best boys and girls players from Oregon and Washington started in 1994 and returned in 2022 as WAVOR after a two-year hiatus because of the COVID-19 pandemic.

The event was held the past few years at Liberty High School in Hillsboro but now moves to PCC under its previous name as part of the 30th anniversary of the event.

The Oregon boys roster includes three players who won OSAA state championships this month — Pepperdine-bound wing Marley Zeller of Central Catholic (6A), Boise State-bound forward Pearson Carmichael of Summit (5A) and Grand Canyon signee Austin Maurer of Cascade Christian (3A). 

Terrence Hill Jr. (Utah State) of 6A runner-up Roosevelt and Jaden Steppe (Colorado State) of third-place Tualatin also are headed to Division I programs, and Kallen Gutridge of 5A runner-up Wilsonville will play quarterback at Oregon State

The rest of Team Oregon includes Willamette signee Tanner Overby of Lincoln, Chance White of Roosevelt, Nico Rafalovich of Jesuit and Aidan Rice of Beaverton.

The Oregon girls roster features six Division I signees, led by teammates Mahogany Chandler-Roberts (Central Florida) and Mauriana Hashemian-Orr (St. Mary’s) of 6A runner-up Benson.

Standout post players Ava Heiden of Sherwood (Iowa) and Kendra Hicks of Jesuit (Nevada Reno) along with Putnam’s Rylee Lemen (Northern Arizona) and Silverton’s Kyleigh Brown (Portland State) will play D-1 next season, and Mountain View guard Kasey Booster is headed to Division II St. Martin’s in Lacey, Wash. 

Rounding out Team Oregon are Grants Pass guard Brooke Anderson, Springfield’s Danaeja Romero-Ah Sam and Ally Schimel from 3A state champion Corbett.

Gregg Griffin and Bradley Miller will team up to coach the Oregon boys team, and Bob Wismer and Larry Benson will take charge of the girls team. 

Team Washington’s boys are led by University of Virginia signee Jacob Cofie, who recently led Eastside Catholic to the WIAA 3A state title, and Cheney’s Evan Stinson (Washington State).

Nine of the 10 players on Team Washington’s girls roster will play Division I next season, including two from 4A state champion Camas — Addison Harris (Montana State) and Reagan Jamison (Penn) — and University of Oregon-bound Katie Fiso from 3A champion Garfield.

Team Washington earned its third consecutive win in the boys series last year, but Team Oregon leads the series 15-12.

The Oregon girls snapped a five-game losing streak in the series last year, winning for the third time in the past 14 editions. They trail in the series 17-10.

Tickets are available at