Skip to main content

Spartan Baseball Hands Out Season Awards


Eli Boike named Most Valuable Player.  Photo courtesy of MSU SID.

Eli Boike named Most Valuable Player. Photo courtesy of MSU SID.

EAST LANSING, Mich. - Michigan State baseball head coach Jake Boss Jr. announced the winners of the team’s annual awards today. In all, eight student-athletes were recognized by their teammates for their efforts this past season.


Senior Eli Boike was the recipient of the John Kobs Most Valuable Player award after leading the team, and ranking fourth in the conference, in batting with a .384 average. He ranked second on the team in RBI with 48 and tied for first with eight home runs. Boike’s .611 slugging percentage was far and away the highest on the team.


A.J. Achter garnered the Robin Roberts Most Valuable Pitcher honor after his first year as the team’s No. 1 starter and ranking fourth in the Big Ten with 74 strikeouts. Achter led the Spartans’ starting pitchers with a 4.20 ERA in 14 starts. His 98.2 innings pitched rank second, behind only Bryan Gale (100, 2002), on the MSU single-season list. His 4-4 record included consecutive shutouts wins over Notre Dame and Oakland. The junior earned Big Ten Pitcher of the Week honors and was named to the College Baseball Foundation’s Weekly National All-Star Lineup on March 22 after striking out a career high nine batters in his complete-game shutout win over Notre Dame.


With a team-leading 50 RBI, Jeff Holm was named the Kirk Gibson Offensive Player of the Year. Holm, who hit clean-up in all but five games this season, was one of the team’s biggest clutch hitters as his 50 RBI were the most by a Spartan since Ryan Basham’s 53 in 2006. Holm ranked near the top of the conference in stolen bases all season as his 23 swipes led MSU. His 21 doubles tied MSU All-American Bobby Malek for second most in a season – just one shy of the single-season record.


Scroll to Continue

Read More

With just 11 errors in 287 chances, shortstop Jonathan Roof was named Danny Litwhiler Defensive Player of the Year. Roof, who was named to the All-Big Ten First Team as well, was a part of 43 double plays and led MSU with 173 assists.


Ryan Jones, who became just the second Spartan in school history to be named Big Ten Freshman of the Year this season, was named the Steve Garvey Most Improved Player. Jones, a redshirt freshman, was second on the team with a .380 batting average. He started 48 games and produced 37 RBI and 17 extra-base hits. He became the first Spartan since 1992 to hit for the cycle when he accomplished the feat on May 15 in a win over Indiana.


Brandon Eckerle was the program’s first Academic All-American since 2000 and for his efforts he earned the Jerry Sutton Student Athlete Award. Eckerle posed a 3.97 GPA in general business administration/pre-law. He led MSU in runs (57) and hits (81), which ranked third and fourth in the Big Ten, respectively.


Boike and fellow senior co-captain Kyle Corcoran were each recognized with the Lyman Frimodig Captain’s Award.


Senior Ben Vrobel earned the Craig Hendricks Spartan Spirit Award.


The Spartans finished the season with an overall record of 34-91 – posting their most wins since 2002.