Skip to main content

The CIF State Office announced the Section nominees for the NFHS California Coach of the Year award for the 2019-20 school year on Thursday.

"The coaches were selected based on the positive work they have done with the student-athletes in their respective sports programs," per a CIF press release.

SBLive will take a closer look at the nominees from each of the state's 10 Sections over the next few days. Here are the nominees from the Central Section:

Michael Garza - Highland - Baseball

Garza led Highland to a 29-2 record and a D-III Section title in 2019. The Scots' 2020 season was cut short after just nine games.

Ryan Glanville - Arroyo Grande - Boys Basketball

Glanville led Arroyo Grande to the CIF State Division III championship game. Arroyo Grande fell in the semifinals of the Central Section Open Division playoffs.

Amy Bush - Sierra Pacific - Girls Basketball

Bush led Sierra Pacific to the CIF State Division IV championship game in 2020. The Golden Bears fell in the Division 4 Central Section championship game on Feb. 29 against Caruthers.

Paul Contreras - Foothill - Girls Cross Country

With Contreras at the helm, Foothill was the seventh ranked Division 3 Central Section girls cross country team in Week 9 of 2019.

Ivan Huff - Paso Robles - Boys Cross Country

Under the direction of Huff, Paso Robles was a Top 10 boys cross country team in the Section in 2019.

Jeromy Blackwell - Strathmore - Football

Blackwell guided Strathmore to the Division V Central Section semifinals in 2019.

Bill Jensen - Kingsburg - Boys Golf

Jensen coaches both golf programs at Kingsburg. He led the girls golf team to a Central Sequoia League championship.

Ken Shipley - Clovis West - Girls Golf

Clovis West won its seventh straight Valley title in 2019.

Tim Carey - Hoover - Girls Lacrosse

Carey's group had great team chemistry, but their season was cut short due to COVID-19.

Michael Jordan - Farmersville - Boys Soccer

Farmersville made the Central Section Division 5 title game in 2019.

Darin Lasky - Exeter - Girls Soccer

Lasky led Exeter into the second round of the Division 4 Central Section playoffs in 2019.

Mike Noel - Clovis - Softball

Under Noel, Clovis was 7-1 before the remainder of the softball season was canceled.

Britney Audino - Tulare Union - Spirit

Audino led Tulare Union to the "Super Bowl of Cheerleading" in 2020. Tulare Union won the 2020 UCA National High School Cheerleading Championship.

Dave Hodge - Tulare Western - Boys Swim & Dive

Hodge has coached for 27 years at Tulare Western. He also coaches water polo at the school.

Karyn Klatt - Sunnyside - Girls Swim & Dive

(Klatt is pictured in the featured photo at the top of the story.)

Ken Peet - San Luis Obispo - Boys Tennis

San Luis Obispo hadn't dropped a set in 2020 before the boys tennis season was cut short.

Jeremy Warkentin - Sanger - Girls Tennis

Warkentin led Sanger to a Central Section DII Championship in 2019.

Ryan Renz - Liberty (Bakersfield) - Boys Track & Field

Renz was named the 2019 All-Area Girls Track and Field Coach of the Year. He's a respected coach who also leads the boys team.

Brian Weaver - Buchanan - Girls Track & Field

Weaver led Buchanan to a girls cross country state title in 2019.

Maria Collatz - Stockdale - Girls Volleyball

Collatz led Stockdale to the Division 2 Central Section championship game in 2019.

Sam Lopez - Selma - Boys Wrestling

Lopez has built a great wrestling program at Selma.