Justin Fields Wins Silver Football Award

The award is given annually by the Chicago Tribune to the best player in the Big Ten Conference. The Buckeyes have more honorees than any other school. Read more.
Publish date:

Ohio State quarterback Justin Fields has been recognized by the Chicago Tribune with their annual presentation of the Silver Football Award, given to the most valuable player in each conference. He is the seventh Buckeye in nine years to win the award.

The award had been presented each year since 1924. The winner is determined by a vote from the Big Ten coaches, and coaches may not vote for a player on his own team. Each coach votes for two players and a point system is used to determine the winner.

With still one game to play, Justin Fields has pieced together a remarkable season. Through seven games, Fields has completed 141-of-192 passes for 1,906 yards and 21 touchdowns. He's also run 75 times for 316 yards and five scores. In last Friday's win over Clemson, Fields moved into second place on the Ohio State all-time passing touchdowns list with his 62nd score (in 21 career games).

Fields is a two-time Griese-Brees Big Ten Conference Quarterback of the Year and Graham-George Offensive Player of the Year. He is also a finalist for the Manning Award, which honors the top quarterback in the nation.

Ohio State has had many winners over the years - in fact, a Buckeye has won the award more times than any other school. Justin Fields is the 22nd player in school history and the third straight Buckeye to win. Below is a complete list of Ohio State's winners:

Ohio State Buckeyes to Win Chicago Tribune Silver Football Award

1930: Wes Fesler, tight end
1941: Jack Graf, quarterback/fullback
1944: Les Horvath, halfback/quarterback
1945: Ollie Cline, fullback
1950: Vic Janowitz, halfback
1955: Howard "Hopalong" Cassady, halfback
1973: Archie Griffin, running back
1974: Archie Griffin, running back
1975: Cornelius Greene, quarterback
1981: Art Schlichter, quarterback
1984: Keith Byars, running back
1995: Eddie Geroge, running back
1996: Orlando Pace, offensive line
1998: Joe Germaine, quarterback
2006: Troy Smith, quarterback
2012: Braxton Miller, quarterback
2013: Braxton Miller, quarterback
2015: Ezekiel Elliott, running back
2016: J.T. Barrett, quarterback
2018: Dwayne Haskins, quarterback
2019: Chase Young, defensive end
2020: Justin Fields, quarterback

Fields is hoping to lead Ohio State to its ninth national championship in program history and its second in the College Football Playoff era. The Buckeyes last won a title during the 2014 season. Ohio State will play Alabama at Hard Rock Stadium in Miami Gardens, Florida on Monday, Jan. 11, 2021.

2020 Silver Football voting

First-place votes worth two points, second-place votes worth one point.

  • 1. Justin Fields, QB, Ohio State: 12-1—25
  • 2. Daviyon Nixon, DT, Iowa: 1-3—5
  • 3. Mohamed Ibrahim, RB, Minnesota: 0-3—3
  • T4. Garrett Wilson, WR, Ohio State: 1-0—2
  • T4. Chris Olave, WR, Ohio State: 0-2—2
  • T4. Michael Penix Jr., QB, Indiana: 0-2—2
  • T7. David Bell, WR, Purdue: 0-1—1
  • T7. Paddy Fisher, LB, Northwestern: 0-1—1
  • T7. Ty Fryfogle, WR, Indiana: 0-1—1


You may also like:

Cardale Jones Claps Back at Nick Saban's Daughter's Twitter Accusation

Trey Sermon Reminding Buckeye Fans of Ezekiel Elliott During 2014 CFP Title Run

Ryan Day Says Justin Fields Will Play vs. Alabama, But Doesn't Discuss Injury

CFP National Championship Tickets Extremely Limited, Pricey

WATCH: Nick Saban, DeVonta Smith, Patrick Surtain Discuss Playing Ohio State


Be sure to stay locked into BuckeyesNow all the time!

Join the BuckeyesNow community!
Subscribe to the BuckeyesNow YouTube channel
Follow Brendan on Twitter: @brendangulick22
Follow BuckeyesNow on Twitter: @BuckeyesNowSI
Like and follow BuckeyesNow on Facebook