South Africa wins toss, elects to bat against Afghanistan

Publish date:

MUMBAI, India (AP) South Africa captain Faf du Plessis won the toss and elected to bat against Afghanistan in the World Twenty20 Group 1 match at Wankhede Stadium on Sunday.

South Africa brought in David Wiese in place of fast bowler Dale Steyn after England chased down T20's second-highest ever total by scoring 230-8 at the same venue to beat the Proteas by two wickets last Friday.

Afghanistan made three changes from the side that was beaten by six wickets by defending champions Sri Lanka in its first group match. Hamza Hotak, Shapoor Zadran and Gulbadin Naib replaced Hamza Hasan, Shafiqullah and Karim Sadiq, respectively.

Both teams have only met once in a T20 with South Africa beating Afghanistan by 59 runs at the 2010 World Twenty20 tournament.



South Africa: Hashim Amla, Quinton de Kock, AB de Villiers, Faf du Plessis (captain), JP Duminy, David Miller, Chris Morris, David Wiese, Kagiso Rabada, Kyle Abbott, Imran Tahir.

Afghanistan: Mohammad Shahzad, Noor Ali Zadran, Asghar Stanikzai (captain), Gulbadin Naib, Mohammad Nabi, Samiullah Shenwari, Shapoor Zadran, Dawlat Zadran, Najibullah Zadran, Rashid Khan, Hamza Hotak