June 09, 2015

MONTAGNY, France (AP) Rohan Dennis took the overall lead at the Criterium du Dauphine after BMC won the team time trial at the warm-up event for the Tour de France on Tuesday.

BMC, featuring four of the riders who won the team time trial at last year's world championships, completed the 24.5-kilometer (15-mile) third stage from Roanne and Montagny four seconds agead of Vincenzo Nibali's Astana. Movistar was third.

Rohan and teammate Tejay van Garderen share a four-second lead over Astana's Andriy Grivko and Nibali in the overall standings.

''It's special, just before the Tour de France. It's a big race,'' said Dennis, who also wore the race leader's jersey two years ago after an individual time trial.

''We came here with strong guys for the team time trial. I'm two years older than when I first received this jersey. I'm stronger. I have been targeting time trials a bit more, and I've raised my general classification ambitions compared to two years ago.''

Previous leader Peter Kennaugh dropped to 19th overall, 23 seconds behind Rohan, after Team Sky managed only sixth place, 35 seconds back.

It was the first time in 35 years that a team time trial was held at the Criterium. There will be one at the Tour de France, too, over a similar distance on July 12 in Brittany.

You May Like