Cano, Puig, Pujols highlight early roster for All-Star series in Japan

Thursday August 21st, 2014

Major League Baseball announced the first members of its team which will play Japan's national team in November.

The Seattle Mariners' Robinson Cano, Los Angeles Dodgers' Yasiel Puig, Los Angeles Angels' Albert Pujols and Baltimore Orioles' Adam Jones will play for the MLB team. Ron Washington of the Texas Rangers will manage the team.

More: Exclusive Q&A with Rob Manfred

The All-Star Series 2014 will see the MLB team play a five-game series against Japan's national team. The series was last played in 2006, when the MLB team won all five games.

The five games will be split among three cities: Osaka, Tokyo and Sapporo.

MLB will announce the rest of the roster at a later date.

More: Alex Gordon emerges as dark-horse MVP candidate

- Paul Palladino

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide — from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Grant Wahl, Andy Staples and more — delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.