Full list of past MVP awards.

By SI Wire
April 07, 2017

The NBA’s MVP award has been given to the league’s top performer annually since 1955–56.

With the 2016–17 season close to a wrap, and Russell Westbrook and James Harden locked in a duel for the award, take a look back at past winners. Both men would be first-time MVPs should they win the honor.

Kareem Abdul-Jabbar has six MVPs, most all-time. LeBron James is the active leader with four MVP seasons to his name.

Find the full list below.

Past winners

1955–56: Bob Pettit, St. Louis Hawks
1956–57: Bob Cousy, Boston Celtics
1957–58: Bill Russell, Boston Celtics
1958–59: Bob Pettit, St. Louis Hawks
1959–60: Wilt Chamberlain, Philadelphia Warriors
1960–61: Bill Russell, Boston Celtics
1961–62: Bill Russell, Boston Celtics
1962–63: Bill Russell, Boston Celtics
1963–64: Oscar Robertson, Cincinnati Royals
1964–65: Bill Russell, Boston Celtics
1965–66: Wilt Chamberlain, Philadelphia 76ers
​1966–67: Wilt Chamberlain, Philadelphia 76ers
1967–68: Wilt Chamberlain, Philadelphia 76ers
​1968–69: Wes Unseld, Baltimore Bullets
1969–70: Willis Reed, New York Knicks
1970–71: Lew Alcindor, Milwaukee Bucks
1971–72: Kareem Abdul–Jabbar, Milwaukee Bucks
1972–73: Dave Cowens, Boston Celtics
1973–74: Kareem Abdul–Jabbar, Milwaukee Bucks
1974–75: Bob McAdoo, Buffalo Braves
1975–76: Kareem Abdul–Jabbar, Los Angeles Lakers
1976–77: Kareem Abdul–Jabbar, Los Angeles Lakers
1977–78: Bill Walton, Portland Trail Blazers
1978–79: Moses Malone, Houston Rockets
1979–80: Kareem Abdul–Jabbar, Los Angeles Lakers
1980–81: Julius Erving, Philadelphia 76ers
​1981–82: Moses Malone, Houston Rockets
1982–83: Moses Malone, Philadelphia 76ers
1983–84: Larry Bird, Boston Celtics
1984–85: Larry Bird, Boston Celtics
1985–86: Larry Bird, Boston Celtics
1986–87: Magic Johnson, Los Angeles Lakers
1987–88: Michael Jordan, Chicago Bulls
1988–89:  Magic Johnson, Los Angeles Lakers
​1989–90: Magic Johnson, Los Angeles Lakers
​1990–91: Michael Jordan, Chicago Bulls
1991–92: Michael Jordan, Chicago Bulls
1992–93: Charles Barkley, Phoenix Suns
1993–94: Hakeem Olajuwon, Houston Rockets
1994–95: David Robinson, San Antonio Spurs
1995–96: Michael Jordan, Chicago Bulls
1996–97: Karl Malone, Utah Jazz
1997–98: Michael Jordan, Chicago Bulls
1998–99: Karl Malone, Utah Jazz
1999–00: Shaquille O’Neal, Los Angeles Lakers
​2000–01: Allen Iverson, Philadelphia 76ers
​2001–02: Tim Duncan, San Antonio Spurs
2002–03: Tim Duncan, San Antonio Spurs
2003–04: Kevin Garnett, Minnesota Timberwolves
2004–05: Steve Nash, Phoenix Suns
2005–06: Steve Nash, Phoenix Suns
2006–07: Dirk Nowitzki, Dallas Mavericks
2007–08: Kobe Bryant, Los Angeles Lakers
2008–09: LeBron James, Cleveland Cavaliers
2009–10: LeBron James, Cleveland Cavaliers
2010–11: Derrick Rose, Chicago Bulls
2011–12: LeBron James, Miami Heat
2012–13: LeBron James, Miami Heat
2013–14: Kevin Durant, Oklahoma City Thunder
2014–15: Stephen Curry, Golden State Warriors
2015–16: Stephen Curry, Golden State Warriors

You May Like

Eagle (-2)
Birdie (-1)
Bogey (+1)
Double Bogey (+2)