Diana Taurasi breaks WNBA all-time scoring record

0:47 | WNBA
Diana Taurasi breaks WNBA all-time scoring record
Sunday June 18th, 2017

Phoenix Mercury star Diana Taurasi scored more than 14 points to become the WNBA's all-time leading scorer on Sunday afternoon against the Los Angeles Sparks. She now sits atop the list with 7,494 points after scoring 19 in the 90–59 loss.

The previous WNBA leading scorer is Houston Comets and Los Angeles Sparks star Tina Thompson, who recorded 7,488 points in her 17-year career. Taurasi accomplished the feat in her 13th season.

Taurasi has been a member of the Mercury since she was selected with the No. 1 overall draft pick in 2004. She has won four Olympic gold medals, two world titles, three WNBA championships and three NCAA championships in her career.

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide — from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Grant Wahl, Andy Staples and more — delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.