Mike McCarn/AP

The Carolina Panthers are now 13–0 with a blowout win over the Atlanta Falcons.

By SI Wire
December 13, 2015

The Carolina Panthers improved to 13–0 and clinched a first-round bye with a 38–0 win over the Atlanta Falcons on Sunday.

The game was effectively over in the first half, with the Panthers jumping out to a 28–0 lead after 30 minutes. Ted Ginn starred early for Carolina, catching two touchdown passes for 74 and 46 yards in the first quarter.

Cam Newton continued his MVP-caliber campaign, completing 15 of 21 passes for 265 yards and three touchdowns.

The Panthers now join the 1972 Dolphins, the 1998 Broncos, the 2005 Colts, the 2007 Patriots, the 2009 Colts and Saints and the 2011 Green Bay Packers and teams to start 13–0 in the Super Bowl era.

PERLOFF: Why you should root for Eagles to keep Chip Kelly

The Dolphins, Broncos, 2005 Colts and Saints all won the Super Bowl. The Patriots and 2009 Colts lost in the big game, while the 2011 Packers were knocked out in the divisional round of the playoffs. 

Check back later for Don Banks’s Snap Judgments from the scene in Charlotte.

You May Like