By Scooby Axson
September 24, 2012

Glendale, Arizona's University of Phoenix Stadium will be one of the sites considered for the 2015 BCS Championship Game. (Doug Pensinger/Getty Images).

Six cities will be considered to host the first college football championship that will involve a playoff in the Football Bowl Subdivision, reports 

The first national title game will be played on Jan. 12, 2015.

The four current BCS bowls -- the Fiesta in Glendale, Ariz., Orange in Miami, Sugar in New Orleans and Rose in Pasadena, Calif. -- along with the Cotton (Arlington, Texas) and Chick-fil-A (Atlanta) bowls will be the only sites that will have the opportunity to host the 2015 title game.

A decision on the site is expected to be announced next year and requests for all future national title games have to be bid on.

Other cities expected to be interested include Indianapolis, Detroit, St. Louis, Orlando, Fla., Houston, San Diego, Jacksonville, Fla., and Tampa, Fla.

You May Like