Skip to main content

Ja Morant Makes Grizzlies History As All-Star Starters, Captains Revealed

It is that time of the year again—the NBA All-Star Game starters and captains have been revealed, and some players are making personal and team history. 

Ja Morant, hailing from the Western Conference squad, is the first Grizzlies player to be named an All-Star starter, while the Warriors’ Andrew Wiggins makes the first start of his career. 

Once again, it will be a different version of Team LeBron James vs. Team Kevin Durant, as both serve as captains for the West and East, respectively. This marks the James’s 18th consecutive season being selected for the game, tying the late Kobe Bryant for the longest streak in league history, per ESPN Stats & Info

Here's a look at the pools of starters:

Eastern Conference

Scroll to Continue

SI Recommends

  • Kevin Durant — Nets
  • Giannis Antetokounmpo — Bucks
  • DeMar DeRozan — Bulls
  • Joel Embiid — 76ers
  • Trae Young — Hawks

Western Conference

  • Lebron James — Lakers
  • Ja Morant — Grizzlies
  • Andrew Wiggins — Warriors
  • Stephen Curry — Warriors
  • Nikola Jokić — Nuggets

The reserves will be announced on Feb. 3 with the game slated for Cleveland on Feb. 20.  

More NBA Coverage: