Washington Capitals left wing Alex Ovechkin (8), from Russia, shoots as New York Rangers defenseman Dan Boyle (22) defends in the first period of an NHL hockey game Saturday, April 11, 2015, in Washington. (AP Photo/Alex Brandon)
Alex Brandon
April 12, 2015

NEW YORK (AP) Dallas Stars forward Jamie Benn won his first career NHL scoring title on Saturday night, and Washington Capitals star Alex Ovechkin earned his fifth Maurice Richard Trophy.

Montreal's Carey Price and Chicago's Corey Crawford each won the William M. Jennings Trophy awarded to goaltenders who play at least 25 games for the club allowing the fewest goals. The Blackhawks and Canadiens finished the regular season with an NHL-low 189 goals allowed.

Benn had three goals and an assist in Dallas' 4-1 victory over Nashville, including a goal and an assist in the final 2:05 of the third period. He totaled 13 points in the final five games to edge Islanders star John Tavares by one point for the Art Ross Trophy as the NHL scoring leader.

''It's a little bittersweet because obviously we're not in the playoffs,'' Benn said after his big night against the Predators. ''But it was pretty special to see your teammates work so hard for you.''

Benn set career highs for goals (35) and assists (52) while becoming the first player in Stars history to win the scoring title.

Tavares had a goal and an assist in New York's 5-4 shootout loss to Columbus. The center finished with 38 goals and 48 assists.

Ovechkin has led the league in goals in each of the last three seasons. He scored 53 this time around to become the sixth player in NHL history with six 50-goal seasons, joining Wayne Gretzky, Mike Bossy, Marcel Dionne, Guy Lafleur and Mario Lemieux.

Lightning forward Steven Stamkos was second on the list with 43 goals, and Rangers forward Rick Nash finished with 42.

Crawford won the Jennings Trophy for the second time in three seasons. He went 32-20-5 with a 2.27 goals-against average.

It was the first Jennings for Price, who also is one of the favorites for the Hart Trophy for NHL MVP. Price led the league with a franchise-record 44 wins.

You May Like

Eagle (-2)
Birdie (-1)
Bogey (+1)
Double Bogey (+2)