By Tim Tuttle
May 25, 2014
Indy Speedway basked in glorious sunshine, but track temperatures topped 110 degrees.
Getty Images/Getty Images

3:17 p.m.: It's Ryan Hunter-Reay taking the checkers by less than a car length over Helio Castroneves, who had passed him on the outside in Turn One with two laps to go. Hunter-Reay passed Castroneves on the outside during the final lap entering Turn One and held on to win by .3171 of a second. Marco Andretti was third, Carlos Munoz fourth and Juan Pablo Montoya fifth.

It was this close at the finish at Ryan Hunter-Reay edged Helio Castroneves for the win.
Chris Graythen/Getty Images
Kurt Busch will have a whirlwind day as the fourth driver to try the Indy 500/Coca-Cola 600 double.
Getty Images

12:25 p.m.: They're rolling now, on the parade lap. The front row is Ed Carpenter on the pole, James Hinchcliffe in the middle and Will Power on the outside. Hinchcliffe is trying to become the second Canadian to win the Indy 500. Helio Castroneves is on the inside, Simon Pagenaud in the middle and Marco Andretti on the outside of the second row.

Scott Dixon gets ready to go on a gorgeous, sunny and very warm day in Indy.
Jonathan Ferrey/Getty Images

Noon: Jim Nabors will be singing "Back Home in Indiana" for the final time. "There's a time in life when you have to move on," he said. "I'll be 84 this year and I just figured it was time. When it started I never dreamed I'd still be doing this 42 years later." He'll be followed by the command to start engines by Mari Hulman George, the IMS Chairman of the Board and the daughter of Tony Hulman, who saved the speedway by re-opening it for the 1946 race after four years of inactivity during World War II. The track was in a state of disrepair, weeds growing through the bricks, and faced the possibility of being razed for land development.

Jim Nabors made an emotional final appearance to sing "Back Home In Indiana" before the race.
Michael Hickey/Getty Images

The field is deep in experience and talent, and the top seven qualified at over 230 miles per hour. My pick to win: Montoya. Busch is my favorite to win Rookie of the Year. It should be quite a show.

You May Like

Eagle (-2)
Birdie (-1)
Bogey (+1)
Double Bogey (+2)