By Chris Mascaro
December 09, 2013

Tony La Russa and Joe Torre (Bryan Steffy/Getty Images) Tony La Russa and Joe Torre combined to win seven World Series titles. (Bryan Steffy/Getty Images)

Former managers Bobby Cox, Tony La Russa and Joe Torre were all unanimously named to the Baseball Hall of Fame on Monday by a 16-member Expansion Era committee.

La Russa (2,728), Cox (2,504) and Torre (2,326) are ranked Nos. 3-5, respectively, in career wins as a manager.

In 33 years managing the White Sox, A's and Cardinals, La Russa won three World Series titles (1989, 2006, 2011) and was a four time Manager of the Year.

JAFFE: Will 2014 finally be the year Tim Raines makes the Hall of Fame?

Cox went to the World Series five times with the Braves, winning in 1995. He managed Atlanta for 25 years (1978-81, 1990-2010) with a four-year stint as manager of the Toronto Blue Jays in between. Cox could be be inducted next summer with former players Tom Glavine and Greg Maddux, who are both on the ballot for the first time this year.

Torre won four World Series titles in five years with the Yankees from 1996-2000, and he also managed the Mets (1977-81), Braves (1982-84), Cardinals (1990-95) and Dodgers (2008-10). Torre was a nine-time All Star as a player and won the 1971 NL MVP Award.

You May Like