Skip to main content

Timeline: See how Federer, Nadal, Djokovic have dominated Grand Slams

Track when Roger Federer, Rafael Nadal and Novak Djokovic have won their Grand Slams since 2003. 

Roger Federer, Rafael Nadal and Novak Djokovic have won 43 of the last 53 Grand Slam events in men's tennis, an unprecedented run of greatness in the sport. 

Djokovic continues to gain ground on Federer and Nadal. After winning the 2016 French Open, Djokovic has 12 major titles, tying him with Roy Emerson for fourth all–time. 

Federer has won 17 Grand Slam titles, more than any men's player ever. Nadal has won 14, tied with Pete Sampras for second. 

To better visualize the dominance of the Big Three (sorry, Andy Murray), charted the trio's Grand Slam titles since Federer's first at Wimbledon 2003. The timeline encapsulates Federer's initial unmatched supremacy, the rise of Nadal and finally the ascendance of Djokovic. also compared Federer, Nadal and Djokovic by graphing their Grand Slam titles by year and by age. Federer is 34, Nadal is 30 and Djokovic turned 29 on May 22. The chart takes their birthdays into account. 

One thing to keep in mind: Federer was 21 when he won his first Grand Slam. Nadal turned 19 the day he won his first at Roland Garros in 2005, while Djokovic was 20 when he won the 2008 Australian Open. 

Cumulative Grand Slams won (by year)

Cumulative Grand Slams won (by age)

Grand Slams won

1. Roger Federer – 17
T-2. Rafael Nadal – 14
T-2. Pete Sampras – 14
T-4. Roy Emerson – 12
T-4. Novak Djokovic – 12 
T-5. Rod Laver – 11
T-5. Björn Borg – 11
8. Bill Tilden – 10

Among active players, the Big Three is trailed by Andy Murray, who won his third Grand Slam title at Wimbledon 2016.