Strikeforce ref recommends result change in Evangelista bout
Veteran mixed martial arts referee
After viewing footage of the finish, Dean said he plans on offering a recommendation to the California State Athletic Commission that the result should be changed from a disqualification loss for Evangelista to a technical knockout victory.
I saw Evangelista launch a knee towards the head. I did see the arm was up, but I saw it impact in that area. It was a very fast knee. And I did see it hit the shoulder, but at that time I believed it hit the triceps as well as the head, which is often the case. One fighter reacted as if he'd been hit in the head. The other fighter reacted as if he hit him in the head with a fair blow that he waited for him to rise from being grounded so that the knee would legal. His intention was to knee him in the head.