Down
enlarge
Rockets C Dwight Howard will not be suspended for hitting Andrew Bogut
1:02 | NBA
Rockets C Dwight Howard will not be suspended for hitting Andrew Bogut
Tuesday May 26th, 2015

Houston C Dwight Howard will not be suspended for Game 5 of the NBA's Western Conference finals for slapping Warriors C Andrew Bogut in the face in Game 4, according to the Associated Press. 

NBA president of basketball operations Rod Thorn said that Howard recklessly hit Bogut "in the face with an open hand." While Howard's contact was unnecessary, Thorn told USA Today, it was not "unnecessary and reckless."

Game officials deemed the contact "unnecessary" at the time, Thorn added, noting that he felt no need to alter Monday night's call. 

Howard struck Bogut in the face with what appeared to be his forearm in response to Bogut's physical play during Monday night's 128–115 Houston victory over Golden State.

The foul, which came at the 8:06 mark of the third quarter, was determined by referee Joey Crawford to be a Flagrant 1. 

Golden State and Houston will play Game 5 of the series in Oakland in Wednesday night. 

Warriors, Stephen Curry return the Bay Area's love

- Will Green

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide - from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Seth Davis, and more - delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.