Tim Polzer
Friday March 15th, 2013

The NBA has announced that a foul should have been called on the Hawks' Dahntay Jones when he contested a shot that resulted in Kobe Bryant injuring his ankle Wednesday night.

With 3.9 seconds remaining in the Atlanta Hawks' 96-92 win over the Los Angeles Lakers on March 13, the Lakers' Kobe Bryant attempted a jump shot over the Hawks' Dahntay Jones. After review at the league office, video replay confirmed that referees missed a foul call on Jones as he challenged Bryant's shot and did not give him the opportunity to land cleanly back on the floor. Bryant should have been granted two free throws.

Bryant, who is out indefinitely after severely spraining his ankle, criticized Jones for putting him in danger and game officials for not calling a foul via Twitter Thursday.

https://twitter.com/kobebryant/status/312040338573385729

https://twitter.com/kobebryant/status/312269229388877826

https://twitter.com/kobebryant/status/312282108016070656

Jones disagreed with Bryant's accusations and offered explanations via Twitter.

https://twitter.com/dahntay1/status/312034791576961024

https://twitter.com/dahntay1/status/312055768130146304 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M2kRFYW3k-M

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide - from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Seth Davis, and more - delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.