Brian Kotloff
Sunday May 26th, 2013

(Issac Baldizon/Getty Images) Heat guard Dwyane Wade was not originally called for a foul for his fourth-quarter elbow of Pacers guard Lance Stephenson in Eastern Conference Finals Game 2. (Issac Baldizon/Getty Images)

The NBA has ruled Miami Heat guard Dwyane Wade's elbow of the Indiana Pacers' Lance Stephenson a flagrant foul, penalty one, the league announced on Sunday.

Vice president of basketball Stu Jackson's office reviewed the play, which occurred with 4:05 left in the fourth quarter of Game 2, on Saturday, the day after the Pacers won, 97-93, to even the Eastern Conference Finals series.

Wade was not called for a foul during the game.

The league reviewed several plays from Game 2, but made no other upgrades or downgrades, according to's Ken Berger.

The Indianapolis Star's Mike Wells first reported the news.

The NBA defines a flagrant 1 foul, the less severe flagrant, as "unnecessary contact committed by a player against an opponent" and factors in the severity of the contact, whether the player was making a "legitimate basketball play" and the severity of the injury suffered by the offended player when reviewing plays.

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide - from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Seth Davis, and more - delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.