The conference will no longer name co-champions. 

By SI Wire
May 06, 2015

The Big 12 announced a new tiebreaker procedure for football on Wednesday that prioritizes head-to-head results. 

The 10-team conference, which does not have a championship game, named Baylor and TCU co-champions in 2014 despite the Bears defeating the Horned Frogs 61-58 in October. But because both teams finished with identical records, the conference split its title between the two schools. 

Neither team was selected to play in the inaugural College Football Playoff. 

While head-to-head results will break a tiebreaker between two teams, the new rules get thorny when three or more teams are involved.

If three or more teams are tied, the conference will assess how each team fared against the team that finished fourth. If the tie still isn't broken, the conference will continue working its way down the standings to determine a champion. Head-to-head results will be prioritized over results against a common opponent if the tie is reduced to two teams. 

Scoring differential in games played between the tied teams is the next tiebreaker, followed by a draw. 

• Minnesota to bid for College Football Playoff title game

- Stanley Kay


You May Like